Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Floppy's Wondershow

by tidalkraken - Jam Entry

Floppy's Wondershow is a reinterpretation of Flappy Bird mechanics with a boneless dolphin who sucks at holding his breath.

Seriously! If he goes too low, he drowns! As if that weren't enough, the water park he's in has devised an all new "showstopping" act for Floppy. it's sure to draw in the visitors!

Controls: Mash SPACEBAR, hold down A or D to go left or right, get the timing just right or face dire consequences.

Made with Unity 4.2, Blender, and Photoshop.

Time for completion: 35 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#160Humor(Jam)3.16
#238Graphics(Jam)3.71
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#473Audio(Jam)2.82
#560Theme(Jam)2.73
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#601Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Poor dolphin...

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Nice gameplay. Had a bit of trouble in the beginning but it turned out really good to play. Liked the character too xD

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Managed to beat it after dedicating my right hand to just pressing Space. Very fun idea, good job.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Damn, that's tough. :D

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23pm

An unlucky place for a dolphin to live! Funny stuff, good job man.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:30pm

I think the controls need to be rethought. Otherwise it played well enough. It's a shame we can't see more of the dolphin swimming around underwater, the model looks pretty good.

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Funny game! But trying to stay "Beneath the Surface" is really counterproductive :D

@Zazibar: The hint with always pressing space helped me finish this game.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I almost reached the ned but could not finish it. The water effect and stone/mine colors are nice. The screaming sfx of the dolphin is epic.

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Hah for some reason I really liked the game. It made me feel bad for a second after that LOUD explosion and that dolphin sound. Good graphics for such a short amount of time. I've had fun.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool games, quite hard, but can be beaten! Just the right amount of challenge involved...

May 4, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Fun -- but the difficulty curve went from OMFG impossible to very easy in like 1 turn.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Surprisingly fun, and with cool graphics too. Super good water effects!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]