Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by bowatatoy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#18Mood4.22
#103Theme3.87
#228Audio3.31
#440Graphics3.33
#487Innovation3.15
#614Overall3.13
#914Humor1.93
#1112Fun2.29

Comments

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Immature and offensive

Calahagus says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

@dkkarate Immature? Really? I frankly don't understand how.

Nice game, surprisingly dark. I love the play on the theme, and the shifting perspectives. Well done!

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:29am

Holy fuck, was this game depressing. I admit the rape thing was portrayed kind of weird but I think the dialogue was made like that due to the short gameplay time, it basically made a tl;dr of what is traditionally long and heavy dialogue, think of this as VERY minimalistic story telling.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35am

I actually loved how this went. The choice was tough.

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Sir, you made a excelent game!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

While the story was a bit two dimensional, the cuts to static were used really well, and the overall mood of it is spot on. Interesting!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Sheeeeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

At first, I was annoyed with the hammering on the inside of the coffin, but I stuck with it. Really well done, even though the 'joke' at the end when you choose one of the options (I won't spoil it) took me out of it.

A+ for theme mood and audio!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Huh. :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

The first cut to static was pretty well times after that it got a bit annoying. I expected a bit more of the story.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Well shit...
An enjoyable game in the uncomfortable kind of way :D
Great work!

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

Great storytelling

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

How is he bullet-proof?

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

A very dark and atmospheric experience, magnified by the switching of perspectives. Sadly, it's barely a game. There's literally only one choice (as far as I have seen), which makes it more like (non)-interactive fiction than a video game.

The MS Paint graphics, with no straight lines at all, give a decent effect with such irregular shapes as humans, but look
terrible when applied to furniture.

On a side note, I have noticed that female developers (the author signs herself (?) as "donkeywoman") often include rape in their plot, as has been also the case with "Rebuild" (by sarahnorthway at Armor Games).

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

holy shit, well done

kristof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41pm

I like _how_ you told the story by switching between the scenes and by forcing the player to do a simple action. I don't like the story itself though. No one had a motivation for their actions. And then a random bullet proof wall appears... Also rape should not be part of any game... Just my opinion.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:55am

Errrr, da fuq? I personally found the story quite inappropriate and badly handled (I have a sister who is a wheelchair user) but it did take a lot of guts to do something like this. So I guess, well done for trying.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Very atmospheric.

tchem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:20am

great atmospheric game,,,, the immersion and artwork are cool... great work

May 1, 2014 @ 3:21am

Incredibly creepy and very linear. I loved the graphic style and the music. The story was really short, but packed a lot into it. Had to play through it twice to see both endings.

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11pm

well dark story here, very sad also. Nice idea of re living your life while being buried. Too bad it ended to early, I expected him to get out in the end (I guess I saw to much movies...)

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Nice interactive fiction, very dark mood, the short dialog are a good idea since people don't have the time to spend a lot of time on each game.

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I think the writing and the story are unfortunately pretty bad. The villain is cartoonish and the woman is more of a vehicle for horrible (and kind of offensively badly handled) dramatic things that drive the plot than a person. It's a shame because the presentation and the pacing are excellent, it is incredibly moody and dark, but undermined by the writing and characters.

I think you should keep making games like this one - I love the focus on story over action, but work on the writing.

Delca says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The way you get to decide what the whole 'man in the green box' really is is great. Also, this was a bit unsettling, but definitely a great experience.
I only wish it lasted longer. Great job!

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Creepy. Good mood, nice and conceptual take on the theme.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:05am

The coffin made a nice drumset. Would've liked some more gameplay though, at the moment it's pretty much a walking(/limping) simulator with a thin plot.

Took a look at your journal too, congratulations on your first Ludum Dare entry! Judging by the comments you've received so far you succeeded on the shock value part :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]