Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defy Hades

by MyrddinsOwl - Jam Entry

You were a revered follower of Asclepius, god of medicine and healing....


Now you've awoken.. in the underworld.


Try to get back to the world of the living in this 2D platformer.


Can you complete the final stage by using each of the obelisks?



Walk: A and D / arrows / controller
Jump: W / up arrow / controller A button


****** In our initial release, there was a bug that was preventing the jump from always working. There was an extra spot in the code where we were making grounded = false. We also had to move input code for the jump from FixedUpdate () to Update (). These changes have been made, tested on Web/MacOSX/PC and reuploaded.******

Art Direction and Music by Drew Newman
Drewhah@gmail.com | youtube.com/user/Cerberust | youtube.com/user/PeacetimeMegaman



Programming and Sound by Joshua Gore (Myrddin's Owl)
josh@myrddinsowl.com | MyrddinsOwl.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#14Graphics(Jam)4.63
#54Overall(Jam)3.81
#61Mood(Jam)3.94
#168Audio(Jam)3.51
#203Fun(Jam)3.28
#222Theme(Jam)3.47
#276Innovation(Jam)3.23
#558Humor(Jam)2.10

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Wow, you sure that you did it in 48h? :O

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

This is for the jam so we actually did it in 72h. Team of one programmer and one artist :)

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Also, Thanks!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

nice graphics! controls can be a bit frustrating (especially the jumping) but very nice overall :)

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

Thanks! Initially there was a bug with the jump when I first put this up this morning, but that was fixed around 2pm PDT today. The jumps are still tricky, but at least it is jumping when you hit jump now.

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10am

Love the atmosphere. There's a finicky sort of drifting upwards effect that's happening at the apex of your character's jump, it makes aiming for ledges and landing on them needlessly difficult. Time to play and polish really helps with stuff like that though. :) Great job!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14am

This game has some serious style - though the organic style to the levels doesn't fit the jumping mechanics well. The interactions and character designs obelisks are my favourite part - upon getting stuck in the room with all three, I contented my self with just bouncing between them~

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:15am

Pretty good, but the jump key has a bit of delay.

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

@GrooveMan, how do you think the jump should function that would make it fit the style better?

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52am

Why are all the good LD games so short? Just as you give us a level that puts all the powers to good use it's over. Well guess that means I'll just have to wait to see if you continue it.

~AlucardX60

xerohuang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice game. The last level is not easy to get through.

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

We've updated to fix the jumping bug. We had an extra location where we were telling grounded = false which was preventing jumps.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Beautiful visuals, beautiful sound, plays well.
A joy to play.

DarkUser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

The song restart on every load and that jump issue were annoying. Really great looking game otherwise. Got stuck on the level with all 3 pick ups.

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Short but impressive. A bit frustrating: sometimes the jump key didn't seem to work.

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Ok, so apparently the jump functionality I needed to move into Update() not Fixed Update(). Who'd a thunk. It should be perfect now.

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Cool art style and atmosphere :). It set the mood well. I would love to see a version with more levels!

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Really loved this game! It's an awesome proof of concept for a much bigger platformer. It was a shame to see it end so soon, but I guess the levels you made were good enough to prove the potential for this game. The graphics and audio were awesome, but it was a bit annoying to have the sound restart every time I died or passed the level. Also, controls were a bit floaty (particularly on slopes) Well done!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Great art and interesting story, but it's a bit too short and offer no challenge. I'd like to see an extended post-jam version.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

A bit dark, I couldn't see things clearly sometimes. But awesome work!

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Wow. This game is amazing!!! Well done!

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

(This post is Drew): I apologize for the shortness of the game. In order to achieve a finished art style, I wanted to give the backgrounds for each level adequate time and polish. Doing new animations for each power up was also a bit time consuming, but worth it I feel. Thank you all for the feedback so far, and for taking a moment to play our game! We are already discussing making more levels and a full game, as this was a boatload of fun!

xbcw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

Tough game. Looks and sounds great.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

really well done guys! love the animation as the characters changes form, really nice!

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

Graphics are great!

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

fantastic presentation! I wish there were more levels to play :)

MyrddinsOwl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58am

(Josh here): There will be! And more transformations, more challenging levels, achievements, even more polish, ect...

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46am

Great visuals! Mechanics are cool too, too bad there are so few levels, I'd love to play this game more.

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Controls were pretty sketchy - like trying to jump while walking down a slope. I like that you could solve some of the problems in different ways depending on your preference. Looks great obviously. Way too short and hard, especially since most of that difficulty came from the controls.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

nice game ,i really like the graphics

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The art of the game is great! The concept of the game is also interesting, fun game!

InfectionTeam says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:31pm

This is AWEEEEESOME :D I managed to beat it after dying a couple of times. That jump on the Yellow power level is really hard though D: died a lot on it

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:38am

Really love "discovering" each of the new powers, and love the Greek-mythology setting!

Lyje says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:20am

Really impressive platforming physics with curved surfaces etc, lovely graphics, music and sound - only one thing I found the last puzzle rather odd and unclear even though I did finally complete it!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really nice art style. Audio was basic but did the job. A good idea that I would definitely have loved to see expanded out further than it was. Good job guys!

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:11am

I'm stuck in the bottom right corner of one screen. The hero is just floating and can't jump out or fall down =/

Loneshark says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:11am

Also Left Shift + T isn't working... (Playing via Firefox)

MyrddinsOwl says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:12am

what Level did it happen on Loneshark?

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Great visuals!
Too bad it's so short, I'd love to see more of this.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice graphics and great audio! Actual game is too easy, but has some potential :-)

May 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

Super nice graphics and cool game! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]