Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Hole Thing

by TheExGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Hole Thing is about the about how YOU got dumped on a whole way beneath the surface, and with no apparent way up, resolve on going down. It's supposed to be just hard enough to make going further down feel rewarding. Try different paths, there a lot of different way to get to the end. Experiment!

Reach the bottom, find the button, press the button. Simple as that. At the moment, the HTML5 version only works properly on Google Chrome.

LEFT, RIGHT to Move ;
UP to Jump;
'E' mid air to Glide (Has limited time before touching the ground again);
'W' to Wallgrab (Has limited time before touching the ground again);
Alt+F4 to Quit.

The game is about (quite carefully) exploring your surroundings with limited perception of, while searching for your way out.

***UPDATED: Fixed some gamebreaking bugs and turned the music up because I was in derp mode when I set it.***
****PORTED TO HTML5 REJOICE!****

There are many features I wish I had been able to add, but since time was short, I did the best I could.

Hope you enjoy it!

PS: Try and find the MEGASHROOM.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#170Audio3.45
#235Theme3.63
#245Mood3.42
#343Humor2.78
#415Fun3.18
#428Graphics3.35
#532Overall3.20
#679Innovation2.89

Comments

xevozfighter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

The music and the visuals do a nice job giving the game an unsettling feel.

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Man, that soundtrack is fantastic. Could be a bit louder though, or the jump sounds quieter. But nice work!

skymen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Good game. Good sounds and good graphics. Pretty well made and good overall. Good job.

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

It is a fun game :D I like the way the player smashes in the ground :D The graphics and Audio are very good ;)

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:20pm

I agree, the soundtrack's really good, but it could be louder. I like the game mechanics quite a bit too, and the trial by death design works quite effectively.

oh, and a minor thing: pressing A to restart doesn't work for me.

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Extremely difficult, a lot of "leaps of faith", but it was very moody and pretty! Good job!

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Thank you! And one little thing, it's "R" to restart ahah, the font may or may not have messed up there ^^

Torri Y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice job. I realized why it's called "the hole thing" when I got to the end.

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I like a good challenge, and this definitely provided one! I did run into a bug where I accidentally pressed some button combination that gave me an auto-win. I couldn't quite figure it out, but I think I pressed about 6 buttons at the same time.

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Nice one! Cool atmosphere. Would have preferred if the music didn't restart every time you die - but that's probably just because I'm quite bad at the game :)

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Almost every jump is a leap of faith, try to use some other jumps as well. It wasn't clear exactly how the wall grap worked when playing, sometimes it was possible to use multiple times and sometimes not.

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:09pm

That's a bit unfair to say, considering how there is almost always either a glowing mushroom, a wall or a platform in sight, but I appreciate the constructiveness of your comment! Both the Wallgrab and the Glide have a timer that resets when you hit the ground, I just edited the description, thanks ^^ Also, that music thing isn't supposed to happen, I'll check the code.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really great game! Reminds me a bit of Risk of Rain. It was pretty hard-- maybe too hard-- but I could totally see myself having fun with this on a big screen in a dark room. Sort of like the dark levels in Spelunky. Yeah, tweak the gameplay a bit, and this could be pretty amazing!

Seme says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nice graphics, nice controls and nice audio. Good job!

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Unfortunately this game did not work on my machine. I.e. it starts, I see a platform on the left and a purple background but not player...

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The bad news is: I don't know how to fix that :(
But fortunately, I'm almost done on an HTML5 port so expect to be able to play it on any platform soon!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I'm awful at it, but it's pretty nice! Really great atmosphere

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:17pm

<3

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This is a good concept !
it's soo hard, but it's cool (:

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:01pm

in the html5 version I had the problem that on my second death restarting with R did not work. the hint disappeared but I still lay there in the dark. (it was after a pretty deep fall)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I'll check it out! Meanwhile, if you refresh the page yuou should be able to keep playing without any issues

pancakecity says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Trying to restart just freezes my game :( But wow! That's a huge map!

TheExGenesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:05am

Try running it on chrome.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32am

Nice game overall. Really liked the audio you had going. The art style is also very nice. Good work.

tuxxilla says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Played the HTML port now. Great audio and graphics. Really liked the concept with checkpoint and restart giving another chance to survive a deadly jump.

May 7, 2014 @ 2:37am

Web version has no sound in Firefox, and has game-breaking graphics bugs in Safari.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Pressing R doesn't actually restart. But the soundtrack is great and the atmosphere is suitably dark.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:38am

Solid. I loved the accumulation of dead bodies.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]