Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coffin

by mattrified - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're buried alive for crimes involving magic. Now, buried under sacred ground, madness is slowly climbing its way into your coffin to get you. Can you defend yourself with the magic that has caused your insanity?

(Only need the mouse and left click. When you get past the initial phase, hold-left click to change color and shoot magic. Sorry for the red, blue, green use; I know it's not the most color-blind friendly)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#17Theme4.14
#103Mood3.73
#272Innovation3.48
#314Graphics3.57
#329Audio3.12
#388Overall3.34
#798Fun2.75
#924Humor1.90

Comments

Contacaton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Only played through once, that intro's a bit intensive for my peasant machine.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15am

Oooh wow, that is one Creepy Pasta you have there. Too close to bedtime to play that one any more. Awesome job with the graphics and sound!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

Interesting idea, and creepy. That guy after the hands is tough, didn't manage to beat him, if it's possible.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:29am

Great implementation of theme! Definitely feels claustrophobic. I love the intro rocks being thrown down.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Really cool. very nice deamon graphics and cool intro

aeveis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

creepy! The clicking certainly made it more distressing, especially at the end.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Very cool :) Perfect for the theme :) I like the color selecting gameplay. very interesting :)

7heSAMA says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Wow. This is far from the best game I've played this LD but it's definitely one of the more interesting ones. I think if you worked on it some more it could be really fun. The mechanics were a bit uninteresting, but challenging, and the atmosphere was obv. great.
One question, is it unwinnable?

miwuc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Very impressive graphics, and great mood, I liked the intro a lot.
I only played through once, is there a way to actually win?

jellyfishlion says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I really liked your game. The intro kind of makes you feel helpless, and once you're in that complete darkness you're left wondering what's about to come at you... Very creepy. Well done. :)

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:41pm

The intro really transports the feeling of burried alive. The "hands"-part may be a little slower in my opinion.

I am not sure if I played through but found it relieving to be "dead" at the end...

mattrified says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

To everyone, you can win. Don't click. Just hold the left-mouse. Here's a video of me completing it if you don't believe me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKYhRjJh7tE Thanks for playing, :)

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:36am

Thanks for the video, I think I got very close to winning. Oh well :)

rezzish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42pm

That was really cool!

May 7, 2014 @ 2:33am

Reminded me of House of the Dead in more ways than one. Nice entry!

Teesquared says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:59am

Great mood and theme. Very creepy. The madness head twitch is disturbing. Knowing your health and that of the madness would be a nice addition.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]