Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Puddle

by lonewookie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow keys, and that's it.
Goal: Escape the puddle labyrinth.
Note: Nothing actually happens when you escape, just know that you have won the game. :)

A simple game, my first for Ludum Dare! You play as a young girl, playing in the puddles on a rainy day, when you discover something extraordinary!

Hint: Stand in the last puddle.

Because of working weekends, I had a limited amount of time to put this together, but it was well worth it. I surprised myself by how much I could create!

I used Phaser (phaser.io), Notepad++, Gimp, MSpaint, and Tiled to create this game. I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#220Theme3.65
#579Humor2.41
#702Mood2.84
#712Graphics2.92
#850Overall2.88
#999Innovation2.45
#1000Fun2.47

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Very cute little game, well done. :)
I did find a bug where I managed to get stuck in the third puddle at the start, and couldn't get out, but I was unable to replicate it.
Otherwise excellent game, well done. :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Good idea.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:00pm

nice little game (i made mine also with phaser)

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

interesting idea
sudden black screen after death scared me the most all the time, the collisions are maybe bit overreaching

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Animations and art style is lovely. Gameplay is quiet fun, however the lack of audio was a bit disappointing. Overall a fun game though

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

I had a lot of trouble getting past even one of the fish swarm scenarios. Kudos on finishing!

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I like the idea a lot. That there are more than just the three keys you need makes gameplay interesting. Also the game is quite difficult because the fish kill you instantly, even if you touch their tail only briefly. The controls make this even more difficult. Don't get me wrong here, I like how you implemented the controls, they convincingly convei the feeling of swimming. I would have like to have less swimmy controls while you are not inside the puddle though. Also I was a little disappointed that I couldn't get out of the puddle after making it to the top, due to the fact that jumping out of the water is not possible...

The graphics are pleasent.

I think that you have created a good framework for this game, implemnting powerful, yet simple, components.
Perhaps a litte more finetuning on the difficulty and more graphical diversity in the blue-ish background and this game could be even better.
Perhaps even a second level?
Oh yes, and definitly some sound.

I like the game a lot, keep it up!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The graphics remind me of Earthbound :) Nice idea!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! I did plan to add sound and tweak the physics, but I ran out of time. Also, the 'getting stuck in a puddle' issue is one that I didn't quite have time to figure out.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Oddly frightening? I really like the concept.

scottyb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

i was surprised and delighted once i found my way past the first little area. don't want to spoil it, but p great.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

Short, but challenging... Good work...

Zeta says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

The style is great and the gameplay enjoyable. The falling through the puddle was unexpected and nicely done

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Collisions are a but unforgiving but lovely to look at and a sweet concept!

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice first entry, damnit it is hard !

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Nice idea- I didn't do too well though! Add some audio, and maybe some items to help kill the fish or something and it's a great start.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Although I read your comment about standing in the last puddle I didn't think it'd be the one I accidentally fell into. I tried hammering on the up key ;) I was in for a surprise though.

The swarm of fishes was quite challenging.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

very cool concept. Love the use of theme in this one. A valuable life lesson to be learned as well! Really makes ones remember their childhood imagination.

The game could really use some effects for when you die. It'd go a long way to making it feel better. Also I couldn't reach the fourth key and I am unsure if there's an end to this. It's pretty funny seeing the guy stuck in the top of the puddle!

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Also wanted to say that even though I usually HATE water levels, I didn't hate this one!

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:04am

I loved the interesting control scheme and like the way you designed the enemy to be simple and when compounded together they make a more complex challenge.

I couldn't figure out how to get the last key. The brilliant moment is falling into the last puddle. Could it be interesting to have it be tempting and intriguing to make splashing in the preliminary puddles fun and then shock the player for jumping in the last puddle.

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I like the concept of it, but didn't really like how sometimes it was difficult to fit into narrower spaces. Also, I didn't really like the art style as much. Why is underwater purple and not dark blue like the puddles? Honestly when I looked at the preview images I thought that purple was the platform and blue was the water because the tealish color is more like water.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I'm really bad with colors, haha. I'm actually color-blind and the purple looked like blue to me. :)

ethankennerly says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:40am

I felt surprised to fall through a puddle and explore the underworld. If you continue to develop this, those bats flying left and right near the beginning felt so fast and dense that I lost motivation to get past them.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Cool idea, plays pretty well and looks complete.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]