Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PEEL OFF THE PLANET

by berunu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please Peel!

Right key to move.
Right key to move.
Down key to Peel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#767Fun2.78
#773Audio2.32
#783Innovation2.74
#901Humor1.94
#1023Graphics2.44
#1079Overall2.59
#1127Mood2.21
#1186Theme2.08
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

PixelFeet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:57am

Never really understood exactly why I was playing the game. That bit seemed a little weird. But it was surprisingly fun.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:48pm

took a few seconds to get it - with smoother controls it could be a neat game :)

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Simple yet addictive!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Hi. Interesting new mechanic on me. Controls seem slightly twitchy, but that might be me showing my age. Needs something extra to happen... maybe blocks to direction later on ? Would suggest using key under left hand (space ?) for dig/peel instead of arrows - at least I find it easier to have hands doing different jobs.

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very simple but cool concept.

Hexadecima1 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The concept was interesting, but the game could have used more work in most areas, like telling the player what their goal is

Marjie62 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Simple and fun, although I did feel like I was constantly expecting some more complexity to come up. The way the pink wedge would appear by itself for a bit between "levels" - was that a glitch, or was I supposed to try to get to it while it was exposed? Also left and right are backwards!

Hempuli says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:13pm

The concept was very fitting for a score-hoarding game, but I would've wished to see mor graphical effects.

mattpattie says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:34pm

very simple but kept wanting to beat my score

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Oh hey, someone else went with the "rotate around a circular object" idea! Awesome! This is a pretty neat idea, but I feel like it needs more obstacles to add more of a challenge.

ActionRemix says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:46pm

World Record - 43200! : D

MokuJin says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Simple and effective.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:10pm

A neat concept.
The only thing it really needs is a penalty for missing a target. Currently I managed to get a score of 52000 just by holding left and spamming up.

hissssssssss says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:55am

Since the name is about peeling, I expected the pieces to peel instead of just disappear!
Fun little concept, though. Maybe turning the speed of the arrow down slightly would be good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]