Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by tastyoishi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Battle tight turning circles, the 1920x1080 wide ocean and the large variety (4) of ships. Fight to make your mark as an iceberg. (Or if on an older mobile device, fight the lag to fight to make your mark).

The world's (most probably) first iceberg simulator lets you experience the freedom of being a large, somehow mobile, block of ice.

Featuring an all original musical score, created in Rolling Tones by randomly mashing buttons.

Level up, sink the unsinkable.

Be the iceberg.


(Created by @stuartkentnz in construct2)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#442Audio2.94
#596Innovation3.00
#654Graphics3.00
#788Overall2.94
#823Theme2.94
#923Fun2.59
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

madalaski says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Fun, interesting and creative... but I'm not sure how it fits in with the theme...

Natman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:41pm

@madalaski The bulk of an iceberg is below the surface :)

@tastyoishi The music isn't bad, but the gameplay is pretty confusing with little explanation on how to play. I think it could use a better tutorial or simply more explanation. I didn't understand why my iceberg grew when it did, or why I floated over some ships, etc.

Good work on getting a game done, though! I didn't even participate this time around :P just trying to leave the best feedback I can for the ones who did. Good luck.

maffydub says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Quite relaxing - reminds me a bit of Solar 2 (http://murudai.com/solar/) with the gradual progression up to larger targets.

As Natman says, a bit more of a tutorial might be useful, or maybe just more obvious progress trackers (as it can take a while to get "level up" your iceberg).

Nice music!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Couldn't kill the aircraft carriers... maybe I need to be bigger first ? Like the look at also the music.

pattb011 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice music. It's quirky.Simple and interesting. And the under the surface part i understand.

ninjabit says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Love the music, but was a little confused as to what I needed to do / if I was doing something well.

Kimba says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice music but cant i lose or win? oO

Kar says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:22pm

That's one pretty pissed off iceberg :D I like it. Had some problems with destroying bigger ships, but won after all.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

The iceberg is a bit slow but nice job. Cool idea.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Very creative. Has Potential.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:03am

This was a neat take on the theme. I couldnt figure out how to consistently grow though. I got the point where I could blow up an aircraft carrier, and then I couldnt and I wasn't sure why. Nice try!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

Prett good game. I got really excited when I got the polar bears!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:11am

Nice idea. The iceberg moved like it was still glacial ice on my PC, but it was fun when I finally hit something small.

JimmyBoh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

I really like the original idea, just a few tweaks to the physics/challenges and it could be really addicting!

Switchbreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I won! This was pretty fun. The pacing was perhaps a bit too slow, and it was difficult to hit ships multiple times. I loved that polar bears show up on the iceberg after it grows.

wschorn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:00pm

really cool! I actually made a game really similar to this (search 'iceberg' to find our special club...)

Moosefly says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Shame, I'm only getting a white screen after pressing the start button. Tested on newest versions of Chrome and Pale Moon X64. Wouldn't even show the start button on IE :P.

Anssi@MooseflyGames.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:22pm

This seems like a cool idea (and a funny take on the theme) but I'm afraid I couldn't get it to work on my Mac. Both Chrome and Safari just show an empty blue screen with some music playing.

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I'm afraid I couldn't get the game to run here either. First I got stuck on a blue screen, with music playing. The next time I tried I got to the "Start" button. After clicking that I was stuck on a white screen. Chrome, Win7 x64.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:28pm

This is a neat idea :)
I love it!

May 18, 2014 @ 9:47pm

All I got was a blue screen

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:41pm

All I got was a blue screen 2.

misterwalter says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:33am

All I got was a blue screen after I hit start. 8(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]