Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

AcidWorm

by no.One - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you ever dreamed of controling an acid worm sliding beneath the surface ?

Keyboard
or
Gamepad (better)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#147Overall3.68
#172Graphics3.84
#189Fun3.52
#272Innovation3.48
#599Mood2.94
#1000Theme2.61
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Cool visuals! The game's incredibly difficult, though. :)

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I love it! Very cool graphics, and very cool mechanics. +5

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Best game so far, i love it!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Amazing effects and graphics, fun and challenging. A small issue is if it would be possible to confirm the level screen with keyboard. Having to switch to mouse is annoying if you die a lot :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Please change the name of link from Web to Windows. Can't play it on my mac ;)

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

@Jadernak : you can press enter to confirm the level screen, I forgot to write it.
@Split82 : done, sorry you can't play :(

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06pm

So good minimalistic art, and very good puzzle game :)

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Pretty good. I liked the visuals.

I think one complaint I have is the controls. They feel a bit wonky. I feel like hitting the arrow should make me level off in that direction if I hold it long enough.

Like, If I'm going straight up, and now want to go straight right, I want to just hold right. Instead, to go perfectly right I need to hit right to get myself pointed somewhat right, then level myself off with up and down. It just seems a little complicated.

But still a nice game!

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

@Dominator_101 : thanks :) I implemented the controls you described first, but it was a bit buggy and difficult to handle, so i used instead later.

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

While the controls sometimes seem to be a bit unfair in terms of sliding into enemies, it was just the right amount of difficulty to keep me playing to the end.

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

I loved being a worm on acid!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

Get's tough really fast, but is a pretty cool game!

01101101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I love the art and fx :) Not that easy, the 7th level got me ^^ Nice job!

Teesquared says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:50am

Nice UI. Very complete game. Challenging and addictive. The level 7 green jump space seems to amplify your angle. I wasn't able to get past it. Game also crashes on exit but it plays fine (with xna installed).

no.One says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Thanks everyone for the comments ! :)
Indeed the 7th level is quite hard, but possible :D

@Teesquared : yeah I saw that there is an angle modification on the boost when I replayed it, I'll dig into this.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]