Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Politics Now

by Nicoll Hunt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This started off as a fun game about a newsreader and became increasingly bizarre and disturbing the longer I worked on it. I'm a little scared of it now.

Help Satan pump the tortured souls of the eternally damned to fuel the hate-filled bile of a modern day political pundit.

Controls:
LEFT / RIGHT to Move Satan
HOLD SPACE to Pump Tortured Souls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Humor4.04
#157Audio3.48
#260Innovation3.50
#269Mood3.36
#275Theme3.59
#372Overall3.36
#440Graphics3.33
#508Fun3.07
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

piratefraser says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:10pm

so hard

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Your windows build isn't available :c

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:15am

Bizarre indeed. And creepy. You did a good job with the sounds!
It's a bit annoying that the Satan pointer is very small, sometimes you run by a door, press space, but you walked too far

gnerkus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

I would suggest a feature to allow Satan to snap to soul pumps. It might make the game a little easier.

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Thanks everyone! I've fixed the Windows build now.

Satan should snap to the soul pumps if you *hold* Space while running past. That's how I've managed to get my highest times (~60 seconds).

Originally it was based on tapping but I was giving myself RSI :)

ovenchips says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

This is a really well-rounded entry. I didn't last very long though. The time it takes to get from one side of the screen to the other is quite high. I love the underlying message of the game. Well done - this is what LD is all about. :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Madness :P Can only manage just over 30 seconds of hate-spew. Great twist on the theme! :D

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

So unique! Best score: 38 seconds.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Ummmm.... what?

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

such a great game 5/5

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Oh man, that was difficult. Macabre atmosphere as well.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

very weird indeed. but also weirdly fun.

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I really like it, got 37.90 seconds as my best score so far. A good take on the theme and I agree with your own admission, it's bizarre. What music did you play backwards?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

nice one, heavenly hard!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Well, please don't sell my grandma for a hit.

runvs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Bizarre, hard... but fun and innovative!
Looks great too!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Short but hilariously dark. 10/10 would spew hate again.

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Love it, all hail Satan.

It looks lovely, the audio stood out amongst it all.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Haha! I like the idea. :) Pretty good job for first game in Unity. I was not able to "survive" more than 20 seconds. Yes, it is so hard. Nice one!

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Extremely bizarre, but a good use of the theme. Well done!

zeal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:28pm

A really unique experience. Dark, dark material! Even the music is played backward.

blay09 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:32pm

The hitboxes seemed a little weird, sometimes it wouldn't pump even though it looked like I was standing in the right spot and sometimes it would even teleport me over to another soul. The guy's movement, sounds and quotes were funny though :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]