Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pandorian Planet

by TheRare - Jam Entry

You're a woman soldier, who's sent to clear the planet from all hostile beings. This includes other soldiers gone mad.

Use WASD or arrow keys to move. Double tapping sprints. Skip the intro by pressing space. After you get your pistol, press 1 to get it out and Ctrl or Z to fire. You can get more bullets from the woman in the base and more health from the floating medic station. Also, M toggles the music.

The intro, ending and the game are still undone, because we didn't have the time to finish it. We also discovered a memory leak in Haxe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#279Graphics(Jam)3.61
#300Mood(Jam)3.20
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#358Audio(Jam)3.11
#413Overall(Jam)3.14
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#485Theme(Jam)2.93
#627Innovation(Jam)2.44
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Very solid entry !Great mood thanks to audio and graphics, I had tons of fun playing it ! Congrats :)

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Yep very good game ! The Audio and graphics are awsome !

Crabman says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The jumping feels great! Had a little problem though, the nurse talks about bullets and doesn't actually heal me.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Really nice graphics, the gameplay was lacking however. The idea to force the player to go back to base to refill ammo all the time seems odd. The enemies were pretty uninteresting. The gunplay was bland.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Interesting game, just the gameplay was a bit lacking.
Has FPS issues.

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43pm

nice. I like the gravity and the background scrolling.
But I go left first and lost a lot of time. And why Tim kill me???

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Good game :D

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Cool mood, nice sounds. IMO needs a better jump animation and maybe needs to be a little easier?

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Great visuals and the overall feeling. Hienoa.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20am

I couldn't heal for some reason? :( And the animations were weird (everyone walks on their toes? :p) the controls weren't favorable, I mean, why use 1 to get your pistol out. It's the only thing you've got. Seems like an unnecessary interaction. And the level design was super odd. Why do I have to go through this same path where I already killed all the enemies? Why is there no shortcut for when you finish the first part? Sometimes I had to jump into the unknown, hoping to land on something (small), you could've put in some indication of where to go. And then suddenly the enemy count jumps from 1 to 10 again and I have to go all the way back to the ammo and heal part again and then again through the part I already finished... There are a bunch of things you can work and improve on. But so far you did a nice job, keep making games and try to get better. Hope to see you next LD :)

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:05am

Nice game, but couldn't heal for some reason.

TheRare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

We're aware that it doesn't work. To play fair, we won't fix it either.

bendmorris says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great job! Love the music and the graphics look great. For some reason I was unable to play on Chrome, but it worked just fine on Firefox. I was also only able to pull about 30 FPS.

We had a list of LD29 games made with HaxePunk (http://forum.haxepunk.com/index.php?topic=735.0) on the HaxePunk forum, and yours wasn't on it, so I'll go ahead and throw it on there. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]