Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Bank Heist on Christmas

by Hob623 - Jam Entry

A bank is being robbed! Emotions are difficult! Beneath the surface, everyone has a story to tell and a different perspective on the events! Wander through events as though in a dream! Your actions are only one small drop in the ocean of life!

Use arrow keys and mouse.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#5Humor(Jam)4.33
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#332Mood(Jam)3.12
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#445Audio(Jam)2.89
#568Graphics(Jam)2.84
#641Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:25am

I have no idea what I just played, but it was entertaining, and rather funny.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Thank you for your entry! This was actually a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed the dadaist humor (and your essay on blank-screen game design, LOL). It's probably better-classified as a work of interactive fiction, though. Still, thanks! The tunes were well-chosen and I often paused just to listen. It was great to play ->_<-

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Quite surreal but good for some laughs. I especially liked finding "The Key" :)

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Bahaha, I didn't play all the way through it, but I admire its cohesiveness despite its rough edges. Harmony is the most important thing! It's great for what it is. The sprites remind me of Earthbound.

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48am

That is an amazing pixel pope. The game was interesting, I wish I was as high when I was making my game ;)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55am

Haha that was great! The table was the best!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

I was just returning a favor, checking and rating a fellow participant who commented in my game... And I must say, it was a pleasant surprise... And the first full five star game I rate.

I am confused, perplexed, and satisfied... I am about to replay again, to see what changes with my actions... Great game again... And the music, is outstanding...

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

I wish the game could have taken place on more pieces of notebook paper with scribbles!

Seriously, this was weird but I really liked it. Awesome.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Well, I don't really have a better way to describe what I just played besides "It reminds me a lot of Earthbound". Nice job BTW.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Surreal as all hell. Nice job, totally insane.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39am

Snake with Badgers for Arms. Truly a role-model.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

Snake with Badgers for Arms. Truly a role-model.

Also the audio is so loud, good God.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

Yes. I see. Mhm. Indeed. WAIT WHAT?

Interesting... experience. No doubt about that.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

This is what the government should be funding.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:15am

Ok I have to admit I enjoyed reading your scribble on the paper about how you should make a game that's just a blank screen as a critique on video games in general as a table that happens to be a constable.
Yeah..

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Funny dialogue. Don't forget source code (in your case I guess it's just the .mfa file).

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very funny Dc Jones.

GrooveMan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I burst out laughing when I reached the part on Dadification. Really enjoyed how punk this game is.

Hob623 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:12am

@SlamBlasta I didn't think that jam games needed to include the source code but I put the file up there just in case.

Also thank you everyone who has rated!

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Really interesting and fun game, the music is spot on perfect for this game. The humor made this one of my favorites entries so far.

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 5:45pm

A learned and thus removed word from the pool is still available in the review list (Sreenshot 5). http://downloadsoftwareplease.com The Client name can be a description of the project and the person or institution asking for the service.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]