Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Greys

by ccglp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Greys is a game about knowing a person, and the secrets that the people can keep beneath the surface... Get all 10 secrets to special ending.
Run the game by double-clicking the .jar file , you will need java (probably you have it), Java 7 it's fine.

(Better windowed)

**********
CONTROLS
**********
Arrow Keys : Movement
Spacebar : Jump

**********
DETAILS
***********

Greys was made by me, Carlos Cortes, it's my first Ludum Dare entry, and I tried to keep the art minimalistic and play with grey, and with a deep and personal theme.
Music made in abundant-music.com

Say hi to me on
Twitter : @CCGLP or @Moonwindgames
Web : moonwindgames.com
************
ANDROID
************
All devices with 480x800 or better resolution can run the game and play it fine.



(You need Android 2.3.7 or better)


Hope you all have fun :)

*****
Updated! Now Android version have wonderful on-screen controls like requested ;)

***
Updated to solve a bug that lets you crash the game escaping the map at the game's start
***
If you have a high resolution Android Phone (Samsung Galaxy S4 like) I strongly recommend you playing there instead PC, PC version sometimes is laggy and have graphic glitches!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#435Audio2.95
#499Mood3.05
#850Theme2.90
#924Humor1.90
#963Graphics2.53
#969Innovation2.50
#1007Overall2.70
#1093Fun2.34

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54am

Quite fun!

Gap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Interesting - when jumping you see weird black lines n' stuff, which looks kind of awkward. Well, at least an okay platformer with some nice ideas!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

This game is too greish, also I did not understand the metaphor so well.

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Not so good

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Yeah, i really don't know how to deal with the weird black lines... so i decided to leave they here.I will put the game on Android, so let's see if I solve the bug!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Intriguing. All the secrets sort of went over my head though. And man, could not get up that invisible staircase. Nice general vibe though.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Love the use of primitives like this, abstract can be so much more effective. 7/10 secrets..

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I didnt like how the player moves, I mean, it slides a lot :/ besides it was boring for me... Music is fine though

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Slide was a "design" feature to make platformer secrets more difficult, didn't think the game it's so difficult with it tough

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Great mood and good use of music. Didn't manage to unlock all the secrets but the premise appealed to me. A good experiment.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59pm

An interesting crypic entry. I liked the mood.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I wish I had understood. I feel frustrated as the game was embedded with symbolism I did not understand. But I liked the vibe!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

You see the "soul states" secret? Here it is : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plato's_tripartite_theory_of_soul

Other secrets have some other symbolism, the first secret is a jail, the second is very easy to catch.. ;)

I really feel like doing a postmortem xD

Bashosha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Nice work I like the style, &Thanks for the comments =)

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Played on Android. The game itself is nice and looks/feels great but the tilt controls are aweful. I would prefer two buttons left to move and one on the right side to jump. May post-compo? :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I think in on-screen controls but is more quick tilt controls, but I can code that, tomorrow maybe I'll update it.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Pretty cool. Good stuff

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Interesting

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

Did you put all your secrets in the game? Just a bit too cryptic and controsl are so frustrating, i feel finding all the secrets is quite random. i'll try again.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:49am

I didn't understand a lot of it but there was definitely a mood there

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00am

All my secrets? Here is an interesting comment.

Thank you all for play the game!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Like others have said, I didn't really understand the secrets. Maybe I'm not supposed to? And the tilt controls weren't very intuitive. But I like the mood, soiI'd be curious to see a blog explaining what I just played, haha

muh_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39am

It is very hard to play on Android, on screen buttons wouldbe better idea. But i liked a lot the colors, the music. I will play again on the pc

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07am

I'd really like to find all the secrets, i didn't get the one with invisible platforms and 2 other ones. I liked your game more after playing it again. There is i think something quite raw and a bit naive maybe that make your game fascinating.

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:44am

interesting entry, nicely abstract but some stuff could use some work, really needed a hint mechanism for the stairs, good effort!

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Oh man invisible stairs were no fun; the game didnt feel like it rewards the player all too much, so I decided to ignore the stairs completely. Interesting 'art' concept.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

i too initially though the lines were a glitch but realized its supposed to be an old style film effect ? ..anyhoot good job :)

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I can be a lier and say that it is a old style film effect but is a glitch >_<

JaR_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

quite moody

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:19pm

The music is spot on, sets the atmosphere. I missed some of the secrets which was a bummer. A very sincere game. Good job dude!

miwuc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Very enigmatic. The background music gives it a great mood. The jumping puzzles were a bit frustrating though.

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I like the color choice for objects and background and the music.
For the whole play time I didn't know what i was doing and I still didn't get what the game was about.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Moody, Only found 5 secrets. Nice audio loop too.

remmy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

neat little platformer, liked the secrets :)

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

The way the environmental colors shifted as you progressed through the game was really smart, and I appreciate the highly minimal and abstract graphics and music. The environment design at the beginning was a little frustrating because I felt like I made early inconsequential mistakes that closed off large paths of exploration, but overall the mood was quite strong.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Thank you all for your comments, really makes me proud :)

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

Really great execution. Very much liked the abstract story being baked into the environment.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08am

Interesting game, I like exploration-style platformers so this is cool. I'm sort of intrigued what the game is actually all about, its all a bit abstract. The music is cool but a tad repetitive.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

I liked the minimalist greyscale art, but the game wasn't rewarding for me. Maybe another way to do the story-telling would've been better.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

Nice audio

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Very deep game and getting all the secrets is hard, especially the "you remember some stairs". Music was good but looping too much, could use some variation to make it feel less repetitive. I love the whole hidden pitfall thing you got going, good job.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:49pm

7/10 secrets. The controls felt a little too slidy.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Interesting game.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Good mood, a story-platformer, quite explorative.

javierecf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This is interesting, but the controls need work to get precise, you cant make a game challenging by making the controls feel bad, the level design and the core mecanics in general should give you that challenge. I saw the black lines glitches but did not affect so much the gameplay for me, i was focused on finding the secretes, i only found 6, the music is appropiate. The relation with the theme is debatable, is hard to make a game interesting with a theme so vague and frankly not that good as the one we had. Overall, interesting entry.

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Really like sincere comments like this, thank you!
I don't think that the slide makes the game so hard, but maybe I have to make a little thinking about this.

And, obviously I'm not agreeing with the theme being debatable.

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43am

I'm not sure what it was about, but it was well put together. Not much challenge though.

May 1, 2014 @ 3:07am

Interesting game, wasnt quite sure if I was doing the right thing... I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) youtu.be/HquvNllyc50

hyouko says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:38am

The black lines problem is something I'm familiar with. Java is fine with taking floats as inputs to its drawing methods, but sometimes that leaves gaps between the tiles and the background shows through.

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

My god, thank you for the black lines problem tip, let's see if I can solve it someway...

Covenant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Good job

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:39pm

interesting themes

Jools64 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:52pm

This is a neat little game. I liked the idea of the little story points as you collected secrets and the graphical style was quite interesting. I liked that the player cycled through multiple colors so it could clash with the background in an interesting way. I'd say it could use a few more mechanics to make it a bit more fun but still a great effort. Good job!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Well, bit too boring in my opinion :-) Or maybe I just missed the whole message of this.

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I played the android version. The on-screen controls work fine, but I also noticed some graphic glitches while jumping. i liked the colour scheme.

Solid work, but it needed a bit more of a challenge. The music is a bit repetitive.

caranha says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:33am

Played this on an android phone. A few graphical glitches, but okay. Platforming controls were a bit glitchy, sometimes touches were not registered, and using two fingers vertically is kinda crowded. It was a bit hard to differentiate what was a platform from what was background sometimes. I really liked the way the scene got darker as you went down. I couldnt really get the "message" you wanted to tell.

congrats on finishing your first LD :)

May 3, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Interesting idea and the overall looks are great. You should polish a bit the controls though, that damp time on the movements is really frustrating!

ccglp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I have to work more on controls and in game-mechanics, thanks for the feedback you all! ;)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:25am

Not sure if the camera shake and flickering lines are deliberate, but they make for a nice aesthetic. There's quite a bit of content here!

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Not so easy to find the 10 secrets in order to get the special ending. :)

peterrstanley says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I enjoyed playing a game. I had an issue a couple times being able to see the "Secret" range due to the black background, but it was fun.

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Missed some secrets. But can't understand story line.

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:01am

This game felt like it was smarter than me haha. The concept was interesting, and I really liked the greys. I didn't manage to get every last secret, but it was fun. It seemed like there were some little collision issues, but other than that, it was very smooth and well put together.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Move left from start, jump up onto the grey wall and exit the level left through the white opening. Bug?

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:37pm

@csanyk Yep that's a bug, thank you for reporting

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I found most of the secrets, but didn't like that you couldn't go back and search on a level once you fell down below. It's too easy to accidentally fall without fully exploring the level you're currently on.

klianc09 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:14pm

This game was really confusing for me. I still have no idea what half of the secrets meant. Reading your postmortem only helped a tiny bit. Graphics were a bit too grey (just kidding :D)

whilefun says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:12pm

The music was nice, and added to the atmosphere of the game. I liked that the grey colors changed relevance over time, and became more or less physical.

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:15am

Playing this felt surreal. I wasn't quite sure what I was doing, but I think that, along with the music, contributed quite well to the atmosphere of the game. Nice work on this.

whendricso says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:54am

Great!

aelita1992 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:32am

Really good entry, nice to play :) I like the graphic style, big color contrast, clear distinction between game elements.

May 18, 2014 @ 4:04pm

played it on my nexus 7 and it worked great! but it's a bit frustrating having to replay it all over again and again if you do some small mistake and miss a secret. anyway, great vibe, the music and style really sets the mood.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]