Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Scan-it

by Flopster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry!
It's only loosely based on 'Under the surface', but I was inspired to make a 2D auto-scaling orbital simulator, so I decided to roll with it.
Scientists have discovered a solar system, where the planets and moons contain a strange material beneath the surface. This material blocks communication, so any exploring must be done manually - this is where you come in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Innovation3.81
#639Mood2.90
#676Graphics2.97
#891Overall2.84
#892Audio2.03
#1000Fun2.47
#1031Theme2.53
#1038Humor1.60
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

I died while reading the rules, and couldn't find a key to restart without reloading the webpage. :P The rules seem pretty complex to not be able to pause and review them, which is a bit frustrating combined with no easy way to restart after you die.

The controls reminded me of Lunar Lander and were really tricky to maneuver precisely. I think I finally managed to put a drill down, and pick it up later with a green bar. It played a ding noise. I didn't see any science bar change however.

The orbital mechanics and how the drill and moon can go rotating past are really neat conceptually though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30am

I had the same problem with dying while reading the rules. I like the attempt at simulating 3D with the sizes. Reminds me of an old lunar lander game. :D

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

The orbital scaling is pretty cool! I wanted to explore more but the game would end too soon while I was still learning the game. It's nice to fly around but I couldn't find anything interesting.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

man, I didn't understand at all how to play this.

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

I really love the concept! But it's very difficult. I can't seem to make it anywhere. Maybe if it starts off on a non-deadly planet so the player can practice a landing first...

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

I told you already on IRC how jealous I am of this, you somehow telepathically stole a concept that I've been toying with over the last few months and executed it perfectly. The scaling of objects, the structure of the solar system, the orbital mechanics and the newtonian physics, this is my dream game. I absolutely love this entry and I think if you put a few months of effort into making it into a full blown game it'd take off (pun intended)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51am

I tried like 10 times to play this game, each time refreshing. I don't understand how to land properly.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

To those who are having trouble landing, that is one part I couldn't get right >.< It is realistic though, as anyone who's played Kerbal Space Program may know. From a distance it seems like you're falling at an ok speed, but once you approach land and the scale gets bigger the ground starts rushing up really fast. The trick is to descend at a pretty slow speed, so that you can very quickly slow to a stop if you need to.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

I wish you started with more fuel and didn't take damage from sitting on a planet.

Also, the rules should totally pause the game, it's infuriating otherwise.

By far the prettiest LD29 game I've played so far, but I wish it was more playable because it sounds really interesting from the tutorial.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

my ship kept dying from receiving too much damage. not sure aht i was doing wrong. i enjoyed whizzing around the planets though. a shadow would have helped gauge the ships distanmce from the planet i think.

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Really hard to play, but WOAH, the way you manage zoom and orbital physics is amazing!

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:25am

absolutely brilliant, once you figure out how to play! the simplicity of the graphics is fantastic. the initial difficulty is a pretty large barrier to entry, though.

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Tough to understand how to play, but interesting once you do. I ran out of fuel....

FREEZX says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Nice entry, but landing is impossible. Cool idea with the scaling tho.

madmaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

This is actually pretty cool, could start off a bit easier though

drnick says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:36am

It's too hard (perhaps impossible?), but the concept is so interesting!

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:28am

Wow that scaling effect is awesome! makes it seem like a 2d and 3d game combined! the controlls are very lunar lander quite difficult but fun!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:14am

very hard to figure out how to play it, pause the game in the beginning so you dont keep dying while trying to read the instructions part by part

May 7, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Love the little shadow on the planets!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]