Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hollow Earth

by Vinyl Pixels - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hollow Earth lets you walk / fly around... well... Hollow Earth :)

See what it would be like, if there was Earth beneath Earth, with a central Sun and two Moons.

The game may need some time to load - there's a hefty amount of triangles being generated on startup :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#368Graphics3.45
#506Theme3.32
#648Innovation2.93
#1054Humor1.30
#1068Audio1.20
#1156Mood2.09
#1220Overall2.23
#1253Fun1.62
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very nice looking... but no real gameplay, right?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

I actually like the earlier version more! That aside there's something in this idea, keep at it!

Mago says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Looks awesome but there's nothing to do.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool concept, but as others have stated the lack of solid gameplay makes this pretty but lacking in fun factor.

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

wow, crazy. I really like how the terrain looks.

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01am

You have some nifty looking models, though I concur with the other comments. Doesn't really have much gameplay, but I don't think that's what you were going for. Interesting stuff!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

that's a cool concept... could be an "underworld" map for an RPG or something...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hollow_Earth

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

Really liked just walking around and exploring. Very cool environment. Thanks for making :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

I like the environment, but I move too slow

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:32am

definitely super trippy! this is neat.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

I can't turn around, can only look ~20 degrees left or right. After a while when trying to move I started to spin furiously...

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

@The-nameless-kompany You can use Shift to move faster :)

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05am

aaww :/ can't play on my ubuntu laptop :/ looks great - can't wait to try it later today.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:03am

Very nice looking.

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Great graphics and idea, controls a bit too slow and i always seem to fall bellow the earth. Keep up the good work.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Great concept. But no actual gameplay.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Look's nice but no gameplay, and the controls were awkward.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

I like the triangular looks, but it needs a challenge.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I'm aware of the fact that there is not much gameplay here :) I went with the "experience" path ("Protheus" anoyone? ;)). When I thought about the "Below the Surface" theme, and the idea of "hollow earth" poped into my mind - I knew I didn't have an idea for actuall gameplay, but just wanted to check how the hollow Earth concept would feel. The controls are a bit strange because I fixed them an hour before the deadline ;) Although the player gets positioned correctly (always aligned along the "sun-current position" axis) the actual movement moves you "in front when you are looking" - that's way it's possible to fly (just look up) and fall below Earth (look down). I alredy got an idea for a mini-project based on this concept and code: stay tuned for more! (and maybe look for "Vinyl Pixels" on Facebook to stay up to date? ;))

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:00pm

the game of thrones theme is playing in my head :D

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Not really a game, but it was interesting to toy with for a while. Love the graphical style.

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I'm not really a fan of this kind of game but wow i got a strange sensation when I looked to the sun and i couldn't stop to admire that particular world. Well done.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:20am

It's a shame there's no gameplay, even just jetpacking around the center while dodging lasers or something, as opposed to walk on rocky colliders, would have done a lot for the game.

This is a frustrating one, because it's 1 hour of coding away from being a simple game that looks great, as it is it's just a graphical demo... (a nice one though).

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:04am

Very interesting take on the theme, as others have said I would like more of a game of it though it is fun for a while to fly around in there.

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47am

This potentially could be a very interesting concept! I hope you can develop this idea more.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Great start, you should build it out more later!

Robber says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

if these was an actual game inside this environment it would rock

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

I like the concept of Hollow Earth =]
my first concept for the LD29 is about this theme too... but I ran out of time and start another project.

GertJohnny says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:54am

It reminded me of the game of thrones intro sorta - pretty neat concept, doing a full game in a world like that could be amazing. I'd love to see some game mechanics that take advantage of this hollow world you've got goin on.

May 2, 2014 @ 5:31pm

It was pretty interesting to explore, good job. :)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:54am

interesting world to explore.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Hi. Really nice toy you've made there. Excellent job. Have bookmarked to find out how you've done that later on!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]