Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Crayon Miners

by Charimation - Jam Entry

A simple collision based maze game. You play as a supply bot and your aim is to deliver the supplies to miners, whilst being careful not to crash.

My first Ludum Dare, I hope you enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#424Fun(Jam)2.92
#435Mood(Jam)2.96
#451Humor(Jam)2.37
#474Graphics(Jam)3.12
#486Audio(Jam)2.75
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#553Innovation(Jam)2.62
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

Adorable graphics

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

I like this game. It's a good work with nice graphics and a challenging gameplay.

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Classic game, nice graphics and audio. A little irritating that you have to take the mouse to start a new game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Hi Charlotte, thanks for the comments! I enjoyed your game, had me hooked for a while. I htink it would be nice if the tunnel was wider at the start, the getting thinner over time - i died about 10 times during the first few turns. Didn't really know what to do when i reached the first miner so just continued on and then died again. I didn't recognise the artwork? I remember you making different tiles at 8bit? Philip

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Thanks for the nice comments guys ;u;

@MPaul - That's a good point o: I've edited it, so any keyboard button can now start the game :) I hope that's less annoying. Thanks for the feedback!

@Philip - Those are some really good ideas, thanks for the feedback :D Yeah xD I think maybe I should've thought about the learning curve a little more as it kind of throws you straight in and is tricky.

The miners just up your supply delivered count by 1 when you bump into them :) There's 5 of them to get, although the main point is to get to the supply miner at the bottom, so that's the important one ^^

and yeah, I re-made the tile sheet when I got home because I wasn't happy with the stuff I'd made, the other sprites were just a place holder for a little bit until I got home and could use a proper drawing program :)

The only issue with jamming at 8bit is my laptop is almost 7 years old now, so it takes forever to load the play-tests and it's not powerful enough to have any of the usual drawing tools I use working smoothly. Maybe next time I'll figure out a way to bring my main computer down with me as I do enjoy jamming with other people around :D It's just a really inefficient use of my time waiting for play tests that take 10 mins to load when my desktop does it in 20 seconds xD

Thank you for the comments :)

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Congratulations on your first LD :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Fantastic game with cute graphics.
Although the audio when dying, which I did a lot of, is very... "In your face". :P
I would almost describe it as scary. :P

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This game is hard!

Dry Tree says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Great work! Nice music and a good difficulty level too - however, I would like it if there was maybe a checkpoint at each miner... it took me quite a few tries to reach the 2nd miner though I eventually got the hang of it but then on dying near, say, the 4th miner and having to do (and sometimes fail and re-do) all the early tunnels over again was a bit of a pain. Still, it's overall very fun and compelling to try again! Well done :)

castlecake says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Nice game! It was fun, but the audio was extremely striking whenever I died, especially as I was always concentrating so hard! Died about 30 times only getting as far as two miners (too tough for me, so I didn't finish, sorry!), but I love the crayon graphics and the music track.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Cute! You should make shift speed you up. :)

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Lovely art style, love the game objective :) Quite a difficult game though. Congrats for creating your first LD game!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

The art and sound effects are really cute! I definitely had a hard attack when I first hit the wall though. Game is definitely tough!

Nkracer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

Raging to cheerful music is always fun, and quite funny! nice game

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:42am

Love the cute graphics and even though the mechanic is simple it's surprisingly fun. If you decide to put more polish I suggest putting player lives so once because it's too difficult for me currently.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Super challenging, beautiful graphics, nice game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

May 4, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice idea! Rocket-maneouvring is fun. Reminded me of MGS a bit.

It is really hard though in places.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]