Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath Lights

by giordanno92 - Jam Entry

PRESS ENTER IN GAME TO SEE THE INSTRUCTIONS
Staff: Rafael Giordanno - programming / game design
Bitt Brady (Gloom) / http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/brittbrady/) - Pixel Art and Main Theme
Tools: LibGDX

My first Ludum Dare! Hope my game is not too confusing. I was always planning to get into the LD for the first time during the 72 hours. I know there are several flaws with the platform mechanic, but I'm already working on that, the update will be so much better.

UPDATE VERSION!

Instructions show up at the beginning and fades on cutscenes
Add ending theme
Main Theme's changed to match ending theme
Overall Level has changed
Better platforming

I know the old music was better, but this one's to just fit the art and the ending theme. It was composed by me

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#98Mood(Jam)3.76
#133Graphics(Jam)4.06
#187Innovation(Jam)3.41
#353Overall(Jam)3.24
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#461Fun(Jam)2.82
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32am

Overall, this is a great first game. I'd love to see more of it. The lighting really makes things interesting and the audio fits rather nicely.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49pm

The mood of your game is awesome !
It's too short ):

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Good game, lovely lighting and art style, very moody. Jumping controls were a bit frustrating though

javierecf says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:03am

The movement and jumping controls need work to get precise, also you can get lost very easily with out any clues where to go. The darkness and the lighting to light your way is a very interesting concept. The visuals fit really well with the ambience. Interesting entry.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Well, I can't get through the jumping down in the darkness.. I just can't, no matter how I try :( But it's definitely very polished entry, audio in 48h version is great and I really liked this. :-)

td1801 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:06am

Great game, but with some bug :/

giordanno92 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22am

Thanks for the reviews so far everyone, I'm putting down everything your writing to increase my experience.
@ricewind_cz Well, it's easier to finish my game than yours, I guarantee that XD Keep going, your goal is the white light

TheOZone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:27am

Nice lighting, but also very confusing because its so dark. I got desoriented very quickly.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:45am

Good game. Loved the art style. The lighting effects were impressive. Jumping was a little awkward. Made completing some of the tougher platforming challenges very difficult. Really liked the idea you went with. Nice work.

May 4, 2014 @ 7:37am

Nice game. But I am having difficulties to the definition platforms. Maybe you should do less light scattering :)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

This is a really good start. But like others have said, it was a little bit too difficult to navigate the world. I ended up stuck in a corner!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]