Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A failed journey to the middle of the Earth

by Balint197 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game description:

It is a 1v1 local multiplayer game. Try to get a friend playing!

Player 1: arrows to move, shift to shoot
Player 2: "w" "a" "d" to move , "v" to shoot

You die if you get shot 3 times, or if you fall into lava! Enjoy :)

Story: You were two explorers going down to the core of the Earth, but you start shooting each other, because you cant agree whether the uncrackable pistacchios should be cracked or thrown away! :D You also have jetpacks because why not? :D

I used Game Maker Studio (I only have Standard)

Hi everyone!

So this is my first Ludum Dare game! I was really excited about what I could do in 48 hours, but it turned out I only had less than a day... oh well. On the first day when I couldn't really get into making the game i was trying to figure out the idea for it. At first I was thinking about a game where you are a giant worm-thing eating people, but i turned it down, because i knew that there was another game about it( i cant remember its name though) :D I was thinking about a mining game like Super Motherload, but i thought that a lot of people would be making a game like that. I was also thinking about making a bank-tunnel drilling simulator, but i though it would be boring. I always like to bring something new to my games, and i couldn't think of any with this theme :( So i made a generic 1v1 local MP game! I hope you enjoy, try to get a friend to play with!

What went good:

*graphics are better than expected and as usual, but it still looks awful IMO :D

*solid code

*gameplay: the bullet hit, screenshake part was new for me

What went wrong:

*i couldn't find a good idea with the theme

*not enough encouragement to fight (in gameplay)

What I learned:

Next time I will be making a more interesting game even if I don't like the theme. I could have made one of my ideas with a little tweak to the gameplay. I will definitely attend the next LD48, because I enjoyed it despite my idea.

Still, I hope you enjoy the game, I would be happy if you would comment any suggestions!

Greetings from Hungary! :D
Balint, 17

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#680Fun2.88
#849Humor2.00
#1010Audio1.59
#1046Innovation2.38
#1094Mood2.29
#1110Graphics2.25
#1129Theme2.29
#1201Overall2.32
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Hungarian games rule!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

I like that it's multiplayer.
Switches things up a little.
But if one player doesn't play nice (for example just keeps on shooting, there no way to get to them, so it lacks some balance.)

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Yeah, I agree with you on the shoot spamming, that's why I added the ammo system(10 shots at first, +10 shots per pickup). I didn't really had time to playtest it though, it could have benefited from less ammo.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

There's not a lot of multiplayer games here, so you definitely get credit for that. You may have been short on time but you still made pretty good progress, and you apparently learned some things along the way. That's what the competition is all about! Nice going.

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Multiplayer. I have to commend you on that!

shalskar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

I liked the multiplayer but it's seemed a simple. Still cool!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Got my brother to play with me. He didn't like it, though it may be in part because I won every time in which I didn't accidentally jump into a pit. I really do like the strategy of pushing people into a pit rather than just trying to shoot them (though enough shots will also kill them as well). Once suggestion would be to have a faster restart after each round. It may seem minor but having to move your hands off the controls for the game to restart the game especially since rounds are so small disrupts the play quite a bit.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Need more explication in game,
but you did a great work
keep it up !

ArthurMaker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06pm

This was not that good but the fact that i played it against my friend made it better and it looks like this was your first so yeah nice game check my gameOUT

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

The guy's face is amazing. I love the games that make absolutely no sense. The controls are fluid too, well done!

Phyyl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Had fun playing with a classmate for about 5 minutes, but the lava is way too dangerous with the non-fluid movement :P but overall I liked it and I think it has some potential if you fix some bug and display the player's health!

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Greetings from Hungary!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]