Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Folicular Rustling

by 4sap - Jam Entry

LINUX USERS:
Please install love2d. Ubuntu based distros have it in the repositories. Others might not. If you cannot find a versionn for your system download the windows version and run it under wine.

https://love2d.org/

A to move left
D to move right
S to eat ticks

Dodge the fingers!
All code free for any purpose
Contents of art folder copyrighted
Sorry for the no sound....;_;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#254Humor(Jam)2.86
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#542Fun(Jam)2.67
#547Innovation(Jam)2.63
#551Graphics(Jam)2.88
#653Overall(Jam)2.64
#674Audio(Jam)1.40
#717Mood(Jam)2.05
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Gallefray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Nice!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I don't understand the controls or the goal, how do you play?

4sap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

woops sorry its A for Left, D for Right, S to eat

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Funny use of the theme, putting the download behind an attempt to make people pay money is pretty gross though...

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

An interesting concept. Strangely satisfying when the finger squishes multiple bugs at the same time. Lice work.

4sap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

oh man sorry about that. could have sworn i turned off all payments. should be good now

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Interesting concept, pretty basic but that simplicity helps the game. Veeery trippy visuals. Enjoyed it for quite a bit!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

Whoa trippy man...

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:18am

Pretty enjoyable game. I noticed you didn't compile the .love for Mac. I'm a fellow lover and could do it for you if you'd like?

Phyyl says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:06am

good concept, liked it but though it was a bit short and lacked a bit of content... besides that, it's pretty funny and the theme is really well exploited in my opinion! :D

4sap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

MunkeeBacon ive been a bit busy so I havent had time to compile it. Ill get to it.

4sap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:25am

Alrite compiled versions are up. I was unable to test the mac version but windows version just werks. Please tell me if you have any problems.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50am

I hate ticks so this was satisfying! I liked the strategy of leaving them for a while so you can get more points later. I was a little confused at what was happening during level transitions (thought I had lost). Overall, good job.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50am

Nice idea!

Artless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:32am

Slightly disturbed, slightly hilarious and completely on theme!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:29am

Okay, so the fingers squash the ticks and then I eat them? I got score "BRO"... a nice, surreal concept.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:03am

Compelling and disgusting! What worlds exist among the rustling tips of our smallest hairs, what poems yet unwritten there?

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Love the concept! Really fun. The art when eating the ticks is killer (excuse the pun)

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Ewww, ticks. Decent

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]