Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ambassador to the Deep

by misterwalter - Jam Entry

Run jump, jump again, and jump a third time as you try and fail to survive the onslaught from below! Your enemies will fall instantly with the right attack, but so will you.

CONTROLS: Move around with WASD or the arrow keys, and slash your sword with the Left mouse.

The game can be beaten in less than a minute, if you are fast enough.
Since people have mentioned it, I'll note that I actually tried to make the game longer, but it lost a lot of urgency, and deaths became a lot more frustrating. Health was actually going to be added in the original design, but I started off with 1hp to make sure the character died correctly, and other things were bigger problems. Oh well, it's a jam. 8)

All content was made by me, either with GameMaker, or sfxr, with the exception of the music. The music was made by HalcyonicFalconX for Epic Battle Fantasy 3, and is public domain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#275Audio(Jam)3.27
#292Mood(Jam)3.22
#414Fun(Jam)2.93
#436Humor(Jam)2.41
#443Overall(Jam)3.10
#450Graphics(Jam)3.18
#511Theme(Jam)2.86
#610Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Really cool game! Pretty unforgiving killing the player in one hit. The sword swinging also becomes problematic when you hit the border and the camera stops moving, but I don't suppose there's a way to prevent it. Great concept!

kibertoad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Loved the music and both the ice monsters and ice itself. Otherwise this needs more game.

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I agree with Armanky that the one-hit-death is a bit harsh. Letting the player take a few hits would've made it more enjoyable, but it was still fun. Nice choice of music.

ZYXer says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Yay! I beat the game. Took me quite a lot of tries.

Hard but beatable game. The controls and the difficulty feel quite polished. Well done!

CeriseGhost says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:05am

This was a really cool game!

lasagnegames says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:34am

Nice music, controls are a bit ankward

Junber says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Really fun game. Only the first enemys are a bit hard to recognize due to their dark color.

tuxxilla says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I really tried hard to beat this game but didn't manage to kill the "whatever-came-from-beneath"...

Anyways... I really enjoyed my trials. Great game :)

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I kept dying! Pretty great concept though. I really liked the aesthetic and the audio you had going on here.

v3games says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:24am

Love the graphics style. The game itself was pretty hard and I wished I had some measure of progress to ward off the frustration when I died. Cool game though, good work.

mystakin says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:50am

Simple but with enough enemy variance to remain interesting. Not a bad look, either, even with the simple graphics.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:02am

Love the innovation! Very fun!

kunzbe says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Difficult but fun nonetheless

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:10am

the slash is nice though I would often click outside the screen by accident.Movement was also pretty good though sometimes I would get stuck under the ice.

Andy Gainey says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very difficult action. Not necessarily a bad thing, but not my cup of tea. For what it's worth, I think the tentacle eye stalk killing me with a laser was when I said, "Nope, I'm done." It was a cool effect, but pushed me over my limit of what I felt like handling.

When the game started, I thought I was just on the main menu, trying to figure out how the game started. I did like that the main menu was "live", during that time when I thought it was just a menu. :-)

The music restarting jarringly when the level restarted was noticeable.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]