Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frack You

by Candyhandy - Jam Entry

Connect the pipes to extract the gas underneath the surface of the earth while trying to contaminate groundwater in the least possible way.

Developed using Phaser.js

Programming : Adrian Dan
Graphics: Marija Dan

I will be updating the game after the judging ends adding the following:

- Smarter pipe random distribution
- Make it more difficult by adjusting the people's happiness
- Saving and restoring progress
- Scores
- Music and audio
- More changes based on your feedback

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#45Theme(Jam)3.89
#164Innovation(Jam)3.48
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#348Overall(Jam)3.25
#410Graphics(Jam)3.28
#423Humor(Jam)2.43
#517Mood(Jam)2.81
#657Audio(Jam)1.63

Comments

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

Strong mix of theme and game mechanics - nice! I did have to restart once when it got stuck on a dialog message that I couldn't dismiss :\

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58am

I liked the camera.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

I had a hard time coming close to failure in this. Being easy is kinda nice for some games when you're judging a lot of 'em, but in this case I'd like some challenge so I can more easily see the game mechanics at play! Starting at the top and going down, I had very little difficulty.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02am

Great game!!! :D Starts out a bit slow, but I really love the concept and mechanic! The controls could be improved a bit more mouse play, dragging the bits are a chore, but it fits great for touch devices. The tutorials were well done and clear. Very very overall package especially for a jam. Well done I think this has tons of potential to go far :)

MarsBar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

That was pretty Fracking fun :)

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

very well made! the mechanics were fun an unique. It definitely could pick up in difficulty faster- I was being pretty greedy with my pipes, and the citizens didn't seem to mind terribly!

Contacaton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

"Um, boss, we need one specific pipe to finish the pipeline without contaminating the ground."
"Well, keep ordering pipes until the pipe company gives us the pipe we need. And make sure you use all the pipes you order."
"But, boss, wouldn't it b.."
"Do as I say, damnit!"

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11am

Nice job! I enjoyed the concept, however I didn't really understand what's the idea with the rotating world..? Plus, it's a bit too easy, as I can just scatter the unfitting pipes all around the map. :)

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

I enjoyed the game, but the citizens get sad too slowly

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

Its nice when the obstacles are in your way.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Same thing as TyrusPeace for me--it's a really cool idea, making a game about fracking and getting the word out--but going from the top-down and merely placing the not-straight-up-and-down pipes without connecting them to anything at all (so I could cheese the randomizer and grab straight pipes only) meant contamination pretty much didn't happen, and so I didn't wind up doing much of anything even though I got up to the 40-barrel version to see if any new missions would appear. I didn't even see the clean water part of it!

P.S.: Cute name :]

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20am

Good going.
Puzzle game with a lot of intelligence in it!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21am

It was a fun puzzle game but it's too easy to cheat. As pipes seem to be unlimited and they don't have to be connected there's a simple strategy:

http://i.imgur.com/VKxyYky.png

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

What a cool mechanic! I enjoyed spinning the planet around. I think it'd be a nice challenge if there was repercussion for spamming pipe.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

There was clearly a lot of work put into this game, and there were a lot of things going on.

It makes me sad that it was so easy to game (placing pipes disconnected from the main line). If you ever update this game, maybe consider having pipes cost some money, or requiring new pipes to attach to previous pipes. After a while the game started to become a bit tedious (especially since it was mostly throwing away pipes), so I only played until level 14. Overall well done.

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07am

The mechanic is very nice, don't see anything like this in this Ludum Dare. And the Sun is so cute!

guscost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

Another tracking game! Nice!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

The rotating planet reminded me a bit about Reus :) I enjoyed playing the game, nice visuals and cool concept!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Nice game about a serious threat!

Acuity says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:27am

Bahahah the idea behind this game is pretty amusing! I enjoyed it.

Xeke_Death says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Nice mechanics, the rotating planet and pipeline. Though the rotation needs to play more of a part in the game, as I had no reason to rotate at all. Pipes need a cost of some sort, and perhaps a higher penalty for open ended pipes?

Overall, was very well done!

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:01pm

the mechanics are nice but it's too easy and there are some mechanic exploits. but the idea is great and the implementation astonishing for 48hours

May 3, 2014 @ 4:11am

Wow, this really kept me going. And I love the happy face at the end. Good job!

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:18am

This was great! I haven't played a good pipe game in a long time, and the addition of planet spinning and protester satiating was a great feature to add.

mortus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:21am

I love the concept and the visuals, but it's too easy right now. On every level I've gotten to I could just build a straight pipe down to the oil without any forks by 'discarding' every pipe segment except the straight vertical ones (placing all other segments somewhere disconnected to both my tower and the World Oil Deposit). Sometimes, though, I had to go around impassable blocks, but it was done in the same manner and absolutely safely to the environment. Some balancing or self-imposed restrictions (don't build anything disconnected from your pipe network) makes this a fun and addictive game though!

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:33am

I love how everything turns around as I move around the planet.

Moosefly says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Yay, another pipe game!

Nothing much to add to the others really, but I found that winking victory smiley somewhat horrifying :D. The controls could've been made a lot better if you could scroll trough your current pipes with the mouse wheel or with 1, 2 and 3 keys. You managed to get quite a lot done in such a short time, good job!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

May 5, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Sick gameplay! game feels smooth and nice. I'd like to see more of this:D.. Most of my points go to mood and fun.

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:56am

Very solid, only missing sound. Thanks for connecting the LD29 theme to an important environmental issue.

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:24am

I like the concept! A pipe-based puzzle system with some environmental effects sounds like something that can be (ahhah) refined into something amazing. I'm especially impressed with the HTML5 coding. :D

JimmyBoh says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Really great direction with this one. Definitly add cost to each pipe piece, and the ability to remove pipes and add in new ones.

bogdan.tana says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Salut!
The pipe rush mechanics go really well with the theme! The peoples' mood part feels a bit weird though, as I didn't give too much effort in paying attention to the mood bar, I just kept connecting pipes. Still, fun fun fun.

Cake&Code says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:07am

As others have said, a more fleshed out score/win/lose mechanic would have been nice. I did exactly what Ludipe screenshotted when I noticed that no one cared if I polluted the ground with random pipes.

Still, I felt compelled to keep playing so that's always a good sign! :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:46am

Great concept and cute graphics, congrats!

Zerkruemler says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

I like the story and impelemtation. Seems to be a bit to realistic for me. Some sound effects would be nice

May 9, 2014 @ 11:04am

Really nice concept, and I also LOVED the graphics. Well done! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ruvs0qoO4zU

psychonull says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Proud to see games that raise awareness here. Would like to see the game updates implemented!

Nanolotl says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:27am

Nice idea, but it grew repetitive very quickly.

jorgemoag says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:22am

Awesome game, hard but fantastic!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]