Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

4-Dimensional Design Studio

by ky533541 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You work for a 4-Dimensional Design Studio -- your job is to use simulation software to show a correct way to reproduce the designs of your eccentric coworker.

Coordinate the simultaneous movement of three colored blocks as you try to reproduce the target "design", without having the blocks collide with one another as they move!

CONTROLS:
Arrow Keys -- Move currently selected block
F -- Switch blocks
Enter -- Submit Solution/Advance Text ***

***-You start the game mid-conversation, so you need to advance through that text before playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#124Innovation3.79
#266Humor2.95
#649Fun2.92
#658Overall3.08
#816Mood2.70
#990Graphics2.50
#1222Theme1.92
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Pent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

couldn't get it to do anything in Chrome/OSX (it runs, just doesn't respond)

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Hmm, thanks I will look into it

hipufiamiumi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

Very well put together. Runs great on Chrome/Win7. A very challenging and rewarding game. Props for humorous dialogue.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

I'm having the same problem as Pent. Chrome/OSX.

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

Standalone builds of the game for Win/Mac/Linux now available for anyone having issues with the web player

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40am

Pretty nice concept. Challenging and nice dialogue. By the time the game started I already forgot the instructions though, so I just played around to figure what's up.

Pheonise says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

4-dimensional puzzles are the next big thing! Clever dialogue, even cleverer(?) puzzles; I hope to see more of this in the future!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41am

Cool puzzle game, really enjoyed the concept! For those who can't run this on Chrome, try another browser instead. Every Unity game so far has not responded to input on Chrome, but they all have worked on Firefox. :)

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49am

This is a really great idea for a puzzle game. With a more advanced graphic it would be nice on phone or tablet.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Game was stuck on the main screen. :S

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

Really cool game! Runs great.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Very nice concept, super challenging puzzle game. I really like it. Too bad you made it too large for laptop screen and zooming out makes the text out of the screen.

That's the only dark spot, all the rest is awesome. Great job !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]