Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MORTON

by wademcgillis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OpenGL 2 required.

If options.txt contains just the character '2', the game will run at 2x size.



OpenGL 2 isn't required in the version labeled "Fixed", which means older graphics cards are supported. However, I don't know if the fixed version breaks the rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Humor4.08
#37Audio3.93
#251Overall3.52
#260Mood3.38
#269Graphics3.63
#312Fun3.33
#462Innovation3.19
#723Theme3.07
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:35am

This game is so dumb. 1 star on everything.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

This is cute as hell. Love the sound-effects! And the jumping. I haven't gotten that far yet, as far as I can tell this could be huge.

Nice work :)

zaratustra says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53am

Great graphics, great sound, uh... what do I do in the game?

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26pm

HOP HOP HOP HOP HOP HOP HOP HOP boooooo HOP HOP HOP HOP.
Puff tails on frogs, what will they invent next.

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:13am

YES
FROG RABBIT
LOT OF LAUGH
ALSO VERY MULDERCORE I LIKE IT

bentosmile says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01pm

So awesome XD

SCCOTTT says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Lovely, fun adventure!!
I stayed in the stress test area for a while. Swag

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Love the Banjo Kazooie sound. Love the Secret Tunnel. Love the frog (it's a frog).

_Rilem says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37am

That one screenshot compelled me to download. I was quite surprised, actually a good game with a great sense of humor. :)
It does require a bit of patience though, the frog hops so slow. HOPHOPHOPHOPHOPHOPHOPHOPHOP :D

May 3, 2014 @ 12:47am

Sadly i could not run it, my graphic card does not suport DX 11 and crashes as soon as the game starts
[/FunnyPants mode off]
Honestly, that's the kind of stuff i LOVE to see on a game jam. It's pointless, it's funny and it's above all, fun.

THANKS OBAMA

Oh, and by the way [MORTON SPOILER ALERT BELOW (seriously)]

I KNEW things would go lovecraft as soon as i began playing it. So, even under the shroud of randomness that is this game, you managed to transmit the feeling of the occult through it. Believe it or not, i'm not kidding.

moonmagic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Delightfully spare. Dead Things placement very effective. Favorite rooms: Gate, Stress Test, Void, Library, Desecrated Dead. Void sounds were amazing, everything else cute on wry.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:36am

Hey! Morton is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

Newt_ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:11pm

wat

May 6, 2014 @ 2:47am

Really nice graphics! I love the detail of the text appearing in a toonish way. Reminded me of yoshi island. Im totally checking the source later.

Zed says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Jesus Christ Wade, this game unsettled the crap out of me. Bloody brilliant. Accidentally tense? Also that BOP noise and the chanting... All that in 48 hours? You're a machine.

GFM says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:09pm

What? XD
I couldn't understand it... thought it has nice sfx!
And the model is definitely a rabbit! The drawing, on the other hand... XD

May 17, 2014 @ 8:12pm

HOP, HAP, HAAP!! Very charming.

May 17, 2014 @ 8:20pm

WON'T YOU TIPTOE THROUGH THE TULIPS WITH ME

I enjoyed this immensely. It had a kind of The Real Texas feel to it, both with the graphics, the mood and the occult happenings. Very surprising considering the thumbnail picture.

And it's definitely a frog through and through, even the sound is the sound of frog fro(g)licking through the woods.

I don't fully see the theme, THANKS OBAMA.

CommanderJ says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:36am

cute sounds. I like the art, too.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]