Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

In The Caves

by Clinthoney - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my entry for Ludum Dare 29 and its not exactly what I was intending. But basically its just a 2.5D Jump Platformer inside a cave and you are a cave wanderer who is trying to get out. Personally I am not much of a coder but more a designer so if anyone would like to take part in a team for next Ludum Dare just leave a comment.
(Please report any problems that occur)

When downloading the .EXE it may sometimes say it is harmful (From what I know only on chrome) So I made a virustotal
http://tinyurl.com/klw37uh

Engine - Unity 3D
Sounds - SFXR
Music - http://abundant-music.com/
All art was created by me and you are more than welcome to use them in your game if you would like too.

P.S. This is my first ludum dare so don't expect the best game ever.

Updates
1.1
- Mute button (Press M too mute sounds)
- Fixed Camera being jerky (It is now more smoother)
1.2
- You can no longer go to the left and fall endlessly
1.2.1
- In The Caves is now on Windows Mac/Linux as an exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#384Graphics3.42
#394Audio3.00
#665Mood2.88
#700Fun2.86
#788Overall2.94
#921Theme2.77
#990Humor1.78
#1107Innovation2.24

Comments

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Looks good. Are you finished?

WitchLake says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 8:05pm

How sad that it ends only after the first room! Make it longer pleaaaase!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Sadly I didn't get to finish it because I am away from my computer hopefully I can get back in time to finish it before the time limit is up.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Also sorry the source is stuck in a loop of uploading. When I get back I will put it on github

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Love the 8-bit 3D aesthetic.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

I love the jumping sound and the music also using 3D shapes to make a sidescroller was a great idea!

eatsleepindie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

My hopes were high from the minute the scene loaded, and this game didn't disappoint. Awesome job with the graphics and the lighting. I will definitely be back to play this when I've gotten some sleep.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:08am

Simple and fun mechanic, It kept me playing quite a while! And the art is lovely, I really like the mix of 2D and 3D. I did notice the camera was a bit jerky at points but that's the only bad thing. Really enjoyed it :)

Jamcount says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Simple, but is fun anyways.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I really like it! Great little platformer, and I loved your lighting/art style/the trampoline blocks.

If I had to critique a little, I'd say an autosave after each level would be good - I messed up Level 2 once or twice and that got annoying. And perhaps an option to Mute / Disable the jump sound?

Otherwise, it was fun :)

jsspiegel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:44am

Really like the music!

valgriz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

Graphics are pretty nice, I like the 3D platformer style.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44am

I like the 2.5D graphics you have going on here.

It was kind of jarring for me when I switch directions and the camera jumps left and right.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Love the music. At first I thought the white spikes were colletibles! then died. fast learner! I liked the addition of the red bouncy blocks. Only negative is that it would be great to restart from the "level" I got to :) good work!

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice game :p I made it up to level 3 after I died... x)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31am

Fun game, would like to see more. Great art style

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

You fall endlessly if you go to the left :)

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Fixed some stuff in 1.1 and 1.2 .

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Simple but fun, and a really nice first entry! I especially liked the 2.5d Graphics style and the animation on the character. Hope you stick around for future contests. :)

oxysoft says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:13am

I like how the game takes place in a small secluded area most of the time

Acuity says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:20am

Not bad for a first entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]