Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig!

by Newt_ - Jam Entry

My entry for my first Ludum Dare: Dig!

In Dig!, you play as an archaeologist who, without the necessary permits for excavations, resorts to digging up yards while the homeowners are at work.

Dig! is a fast-paced arcade game where you try to dig up as many treasures as possible and cover your tracks before time runs out.

More detailed instructions and credits are in-game. Thank you very much for playing!

My high score is 1200 by the way, let's see if anyone can beat that! :)

Installation Help:
1) Download zip file
2) Extract the dist folder (It's the only folder)
3) Open the dist folder
4) Run dig.exe
5) Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#55Theme(Jam)3.86
#137Innovation(Jam)3.56
#163Fun(Jam)3.37
#168Humor(Jam)3.14
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#413Audio(Jam)2.97
#501Mood(Jam)2.83
#611Graphics(Jam)2.71

Comments

Nicoll Hunt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Interesting gameplay mechanic, could see this being extended into a nice little puzzle/strategy game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Wow! Great concept and a nice demo!
I would love to see the finished version of this!
Though there are some bugs (like some extra dirt appearing and disappearing) the game is very solid. Adding more features to this game surely will make it super addicting!
Great Job!

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Not a bad little game. I had fun finding all the different items. I liked the leaf, could have sworn it was a piece of furniture like in Animal Crossing :P

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

@cudabear I'm glad someone picked up on that! Maybe in a future update I make it turn into a random piece of furniture in your bag. :)

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Fun to play, I got 750 as my highest score.

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I find it hilarious how you can find a copy of the E.T. game underground. Well played sir!

magicdweedoo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:34pm

good game

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Great puzzle idea!

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:14am

Very good rapidity game and a nice use of the theme :D

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Pretty nice! Quite frantic too, It'd be cool to see this on some kind of mobile platform

May 1, 2014 @ 3:03am

Very nice game. I was frantically trying to fill in the holes at the end! I liked the poker hand mechanic, and that I found it by surprise was really fun.

valid4life says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:06am

I liked the fact that you cant simply destroy a block and that the dirt has to go somewhere!

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Newt_ seriously, you should port it to android and sell it for some money. I don't know why, but it's highly addictive.
Keep working on this title, it has so much potencial!

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Definitely juice it up and make it mobile! loved it

lucidlarva says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:49am

Really like the dig mechanic.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Ha! Nice touch adding E.T.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]