Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishie Fruit

by czery - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your typical avoidal game.
Use Items to your advantage.

Fishie likes Fruit. ;)


Oh and the submit button doesn't work, so don't even bother pressing it.

-czery

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Audio3.72
#367Mood3.20
#390Fun3.21
#550Humor2.44
#575Theme3.24
#640Overall3.10
#706Graphics2.93
#1123Innovation2.21
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

Aww, cute fishy. Simple, but pretty, art, and the music was nice and mellow -- it really fit the mood of the game. Good work on this!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I really like the trance-like flow the game puts you into.
I think that comes from the simple, repetitive gameplay and the really good music. I think the audio somewhat makes the game.
While the graphics itself are not that great, they have some pretty colors and do their job well.
As you said yourself, the idea has been seen pretty often, so not many points on Theme and Innovation from me.

All in all a good game with a great mood!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:04am

I was doing well until the fish ate a broken bottle and died :(

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

why is the fish eating fruit how does it digest it?

zed0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08am

I liked the variety of power ups, though it would be nice to have some idea when the shield was going to end (flashing or something). Fun music too.

tanjent says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:40am

Creates a really nice vibe with the reverbed sound effects, the lounge music and the overall cool color scheme.

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Sweet little game! I love the music, gives the game a nice atmosphere :)

k.escoe says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:28pm

omg the fishies are too cute!

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very pleasing for ears music and nice gameplay, good job ;)

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Simple and straightforward fun. Good work!

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cute game with a nice beat and simple gameplay that makes you want to get as far as you can. My best score was 35245. Well done! :)

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:02pm

The audio is what pushes this game out of mediocre and into pretty good. Very relaxing.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Nice simple game. Very polished. Great job! :)

Logun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:19pm

A very nice realisation. The game could have innovate a bit more, but the mood is pretty good, and the fun is there. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]