Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Train Wreck

by shesaidgraves - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You struggle to reach the ladder provided by the coast guard after being ejected from a train that fell off a bridge into the sea.

Objective:
Reach the surface by swimming up. Avoid the train's debris and don't drown.

Controls:
- A/D or Left/Right to Move
- Alt+Enter to Toggle
- ESC toExit

My Ludum Dare 29 entry. Made with Gamemaker: Studio. Fairly happy with it. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Mood3.44
#450Theme3.38
#462Innovation3.19
#544Overall3.19
#572Audio2.75
#680Fun2.88
#990Graphics2.50
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

Catmoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

At first I was so frustrated with it because of what feels like the total randomness of the debris, which makes sense, however it did make it complete chance to if you made it to the ladder. However eventually I made it! And I was happy!

It would have been nice to see the speed of the player increase over time if you successfully pressed left and right in rhythm with other :)

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44am

Good job! The speed of the player should get a bit faster though :)

MrBlade says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Fun game. It's a bit hard and takes a minute to get used to. Fine art and nice sounds. I would have liked a windowed option, but it's a game made in 48 hours, what should I expect? Haha. Good work!

AlexFili says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Interesting concept but the controls could use a bit of work. I do like the idea though and the gameplay is pretty cool!

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I like the gameplay, although it was a bit confusing at first. Feels a bit too short.

BMacIntosh says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:27pm

The controls were unique and interesting. Good job. It is quite short, though!

May 17, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Very cool controls that could have been explored at lot more. Shame there wasn't more to it.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I think the control are what make this game interesting. Short but efficient gameplay. Well done.

Rock48 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Couldn't get it to run in wine: cabinet not valid.

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:07am

Good job

tastyoishi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Fun, good theme :) a little short, but solid

Moosefly says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Not much, but it's a decent minigame. Somewhat easy too, finished three of my five tries I think.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Clinthoney says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:09am

Graphics are not the best but the mood is good. I suggest instead of just very plain graphics put some kind of shading into it.

misterwalter says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:28am

The controls felt awkward at first, but once I got to know them they provided a novel way of moving. I think that the biggest thing to work on with this would be non-random levels, because I found that the difficulty of a particular run varied from effortless to impossible.
I had fun though, keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]