Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Paddle Battle Pegasus

by Boltz Interactive - Jam Entry

Boltz consists of Jeff (Code/Design), Brandon (Art/Design), and Dawn (Design). This represents 58 hours of work start to finish, but about 76 man-hours.

The Story:

An ancient sea monster of centuries old has awoken. It's gaping yawn creating a whirlpool stretching down to the depths. The razor-lined maw will crush anything so unfortunate to drift near. As the glimmering remains of those caught in it's path drift by, only one ship dares to plunge straight into the eye of the storm. The Pegasus.

Some say it is captained by Lief Ericson reincarnate. Others, Captain Jack himself. But the general consensus is that I take my mythology like my martinis, shaken AND stirred.

Embrace the stomach-dropping plunge into the vortex. Satiate your greed with gold wrought of other's misfortune. And if nothing else, keep that pretty mug clear of the undulating appendages ready to suck that grin right off your face!


Controls:
WASD and Arrow keys to guide your ship.
UP = speed boost
DOWN = Drag (Slow Down)
LEFT & RIGHT = Rotate

ESC = Reset Game
M = Mute

Goal
----
Collect gold to fill your chest.
Meet the quota to send gold to the bank.
Try to lock in the highest score.

Damage
------
The monster grows more angry with every completed chest.
You can survive 2 hits from a tentacle, but the monster yields insta-death.

Death
------
When you die, you may chose to sacrifice a chest OR to lock in your score.
If you choose to continue, a chest will be thrown back into the sea at random.
Gold thrown back into the sea is taken away from your score (unless you scramble to pick it up)

Chests
------
Sacrificed chests do not count towards your score unless filled again.
If all chests are full when the next is completed, the lowest value chest will be replaced.

Scoring
-------
Score = Chests in the bank + gold in the chest being filled.
Let us know in the comments what your best high-score was!!!

Concept: Deal or No Deal crossed with an infinite runner wrapped around a sea monster... BENEATH THE SURFACE.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#166Innovation(Jam)3.47
#264Fun(Jam)3.18
#354Audio(Jam)3.12
#446Overall(Jam)3.09
#508Graphics(Jam)3.02
#558Humor(Jam)2.10
#585Mood(Jam)2.67
#586Theme(Jam)2.67

Comments

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

I like the drag effect the vortex has on your boat. The music also was amazing at setting a mood! Well done!

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10am

Great fun and beautiful

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Would have been cool if the eye followed your movement! But overall nicely done, very innovative.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12am

Thanks guys! We worked really hard to get the feel of the vortex drag just right.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

I didn't quite get the locking-in chests/high score mechanic, unless I just didn't collect enough coins to do that. I had all three chests lit up - only scored 35 at maximum though!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

I really like the way movement works, but I feel like starting the player facing the center is a horrible idea. I died three times before I figured out what was going on.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

@SoupWithBits Yes! we thought so too after the artwork had been created. It went on our todo list if we had time left over.

jomacel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57am

Nice Game! I liked the vortex effect

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game. I realy like the tentacles and how you have to ship around them.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

@GarethIW The scoring is explained above.
Score = banked chest values + coins in left chest
Basically, when you collect the target number of coins (left chest) you bank them on the right. If you die, you can sacrifice a random banked chest in order to continue, or lock in your high score instead. If all 3 chests are banked, the lowest score one is replaced with the new chest.

@Crowbeak I agree. It was a side effect of the way the vortex physics work. The ship actually starts facing right, but is immediately pulled to face the center. I might be able to add a delay before the physics kick in.

CDK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

got pretty boring in the long run but nice mechanics and graphics! lot's of potential i think..

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

The idea of sacrificing your score in a score attack game is really cool - it both allows me to save a run gone awry and dares me to push an already successful one a bit further.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:01am

Fun little game. The drag of the vortex felt right. At first I felt a like I just had to circle aroudn the monster and randomly hit coins- But then came the tentacles! The tentacles really added to the experience. A good game :-)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50pm

@CDK Thanks for the feedback. It could definitely use some balancing in the long game. Right now I think it stops feeling "worth it" since the chests only increment by 5.

@GrooveMan Thanks! I know it needs a little balancing in the long game, but we really hoped it would bring a heightened sense of risk and reward to the more bland "high score challange". At the same time it serves to reduce a little stress from the completely unforgiving sea monster collision.

@Mekuri Glad you liked the tentacles. Our first priority was making the vortex feel solid, the second was forcing you to do something more engaging than just spin around it.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:29am

Neat concept, but tough. After several games, my high score was 13.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:19am

@dylanwolf Glad it gave you a good challenge!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Feels like a Mario Party mini game and it would be a good multiplayer!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:02pm

The drag effect was interesting and the control were good.

ThingoStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:33pm

If you don't press keys IMMEDIATELY after starting the game, you can't escape the monster fast enough. Which is frustrating, given that you have to click to restart the game and thus couldn't move immediately after starting if you were playing one-handed (like yours truly). If you made it so you could navigate the game over menu with the arrow keys, that would eliminate the issue.

May 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

@baykush_figtree You've discovered my inspiration! Multiplayer would be fun. Maybe a slightly larger pool, and a knock-out style mechanic?

@cavf88 Thanks for the feedback, we tried hard to get the controls solid. Good to know it paid off!

@ThingoStudios I'm sorry that was frustrating. That's good feedback though. It's a bad side effect of the vortex mechanic. I tried to fix it yesterday and my hack didn't work. It's definitely something we will change in a future polished version though.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:43am

Interesting physics, I think you all have something going here. I wonder if this could be implemented on mobile, feels like a great train game.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:00am

@blockbot I've been pondering the best way to port a solid feel to mobile. Do you have the ship pulled towards your finger, or implement left and right on each half of the screen? Thanks for the feedback!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Nice physic effect. With a little polish on the controls this could feel really good to play and lead to a quiet fun game.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nicely done! I like how your ship's momentum works with the whirlpool. Spawning coins more quickly might lead to an increased sense of fun. I feel like sometimes I could go a long time without getting any coins. It might also be cool to see the coins rotate with the vortex as well.

May 6, 2014 @ 8:48am

Thanks guys! The coins could definitely use some balancing. We wanted it to be challenging, but not to a boring extent while easing in to the concept of the chests. The coins do actually spawn faster as you complete more chests, though the increment is fairly small. Maybe we could extend the life/timeout of the coins so more stay in play at a time?

We really wanted the coins to get "sucked" down the vortex, but ran out of time to get that added to the physics calculations. Excellent feedback!

loxo says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:35am

Great game, I like the idea. In the beginning it looks easy, but gets challenging really fast. With some more work this game could be awesome.

namuol says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:12am

Easy to pick up, difficult to master. Controls feel great. I love the passive movement of the ship caused by the vortex.

Nice tune!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]