Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by jesse0michael - Jam Entry

My first Ludum Dare!

And, Oh, how exciting/overwhelming it was! LD29 was a great experience for me! I'm so happy that I'm ending the weekend with something, even though my something isn't that great.

In my game, you play a hero who wields a bow and fires arrows at a giant to keep him from destroying you. Click the screen, pull back, and release to fire an arrow.

Not only was this my first Ludum Dare, but this was my first time using Unity. I fell in love with Unity almost instantly. I can't believe what a powerful tool it is!

I know my game isn't that great, but I hope playing it isn't a complete waist of time for someone out there.


Until next time!
-Jesse Michael

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

the gameplay is very repetitious, i like the artstyle though.

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Pretty boring gameplay, and I found the controls a bit dodgy. But, I will give you this, it was animated VERY well, and the graphics were good.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

The controll was pretty hard for me :/

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:54am

the drag and shoot controls are cool for bows and tablet games, with the mouse it was difficult to master but I did anyway.. Nice game

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

How much hits it needs to take?

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

I don't think I made a single hit, but there was something kind of awesome about this game. I'd love to see it work well.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02am

I like how it takes some time to learn how to shoot, but once you get the controls it becomes really accurate.
Also presentation on art is really good eventhough art itself isn't the pretties around. :P

xbcw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39am

I hit the rock guy a bunch but was never able to win.

May 4, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Nice job. I like the animations on the monster. The controls were a bit difficult, but using the screen brightness as your life meter was cool.

mrexcessive says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Hi. like the idea and the look of your game. Shame no sound, recommend BXFR and Audacity with Unity. Something off about the aiming and arrow velocity, doesn't feel quite right.

May 18, 2014 @ 5:11am

Yeah Unity is a lot of fun. Sweet graphics. I feel like I hit the guy 100 times and he never went down :) You must not have gotten to the win logic yet!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]