Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Love Letter Typer

by seanographies - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A human infatuated by a love letter written to escape the unthinkable void.

This is a puzzle game, collect the hearts in the void, read the letters and maybe collect a couple violets in the real world and then meet your "Mystery Lover", Ez game, Ez lyfe.But, it's not all as it seems beneath the surface.

Controls: Arrow keys to move, Z to shoot, R to restart, Q to close letter.
---------------------------------------------------------
A Flash game made in/with the help of:
Language: AS3
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Flashpunk 1.7.2
Art Software: Fireworks CS5
Level Editor: OGMO
-------------------------Updates---------------------------
- problem with screen size smaller than game size *Resolved*

-----------------------------------------------------------
Dev info:
I'm @seanographies on twitter

My Blog is http://seanographies.tumblr.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#748Humor2.18
#917Graphics2.60
#931Mood2.56
#1013Audio1.58
#1032Innovation2.40
#1090Overall2.58
#1151Theme2.21
#1166Fun2.14

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

I got one or two rooms in and was trapped?

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

which room specifically was it? can you please describe it? thanks.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56am

It was frustrating to not see character because he was behind the edge (or beneath the surface? :D) sometimes (bug of firefox?). Didn't finished it.. :-/

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

yeah i understand, it's intentional, i didnt want the hitbox to cover the whole character, or not it would have made some manoeuvres difficult.

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Tried it on both firefox and chrome. It seems like the right and bottom parts of the game are clipped off. The window size seems smaller than the game size.

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Its not that the window size is smaller than the game size,the red bar on the side is a problem when i was parsing the ogmo xml data into flash and i could not properly align the walls and objects, so i had to choose whether to compromise the position of the walls of the game or the obstacles(which looked terrible).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:21am

Really nice minimalist visuals, and I really liked the character designs. Got trapped in the room where it teaches me that z shoots cigarettes.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22am

Nice little story! Interesting mechanics, I like that you use cigarettes as projectiles XD Also really enjoyed the simplistic visual style, it all works together pretty well. :)

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Nice characters!

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Hey, thanks for the feedback. How did you get stuck exactly? is it before you hit the heart to progress to the next level?

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Oh! Forgot to rate this one, here ya go!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Hi, I like the approach and story. Mechanics seemed a bit sensitive at times but finished first two rooms.

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:32am

I got stuck after hitting the first heart, in the screen that says "Hit z while running to get a new cigarette" or similar. From what I've seen so far, it's a very unique style and idea!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:12am

I'm stuck in the game area rnif is in. After I defeat all of the enemies I tried pushing up against all of the sides but nothing happened.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

Interesting. I'm not sure I like having to go around corners off the map, but that's new. Nice minimal graphics as well. Good job!

seanographies says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35am

guys i figured out the bug, you have to play the game at 125% zoomed in

seanographies says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:39am

I fixed the problem, the game is now playable in any zoom level, dont need to play it in 125% anymore.Sorry guys, made a very stupid mistake before.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13am

I managed to get myself stuck outside the level :P

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:16am

Well, that was certainly different! Liked the weird, creepy atmosphere and the ambiguous story.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Thanks for the game! I dug the graphics, the monsters, the whole strange surrealism of it. I think you could make the love letters a bit more intense--I don't mean "graphic," just that you could work on developing them so as to add a bit more of an arc to the story. Character design is excellent and I enjoyed the bizarre French existentialist bend (and metamorphosis of lover into a chain-smoking beetle...).

I did find a kind of weird bug, though--sometimes you'll teleport through solid walls when you stand close to them and hit z. I would often find myself trapped in a box on a level, think I was about to lose, and then warp out of it.

Another thing is that due to the very simple visual design, which is lovely and striking most of the time, I had a lot of trouble finding my character at the beginning of the level sometimes, and there was a fear that I would end up getting killed because the starting position was unsafe. So, that might be something else to consider.

All-in-all, a solid entry. Thank you!

seanographies says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

Thank you for you're feedback, glad you enjoyed the game. The bug is a miscalculation in the collision function(with the breakable soul blocks) it is not very stable, I spent a long time during development trying to come up with a collison function which would with the best of my ability deflect the player back(works by moving player back by one 32x32 square on the grid each time it collides). But instead it sends he player flying if it hits the block in an awkward spot, unfortunately this was the best I could due to time constaints.

I feel the same way as you do about the letters, originally I had planned them to be confessional and a lot more detailed but due to poor planing(leaving the letter to the last minute) I had rushed the content of the letters, which was suppose to be one of the major components of the game. In retrospect I should have wrote the letters first while writing the structure of the story.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I like the visuals a lot for some reason. Gameplay is a little repetitive after a while since there isn't no real challenge...

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Funny. I got stuck in a wall after shooting on broken heart.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:58pm

cool game, but it could use some kind of transition when moving from one level to another. Got a bit confused at the beginning.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Played, beaten.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]