Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

29 Leagues

by Nition - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the depths of the ocean... and beyond?

Mouse, WASD or arrow keys to move (mouse is recommended).
In phase 2, left mouse or spacebar to shoot.
Click Instructions at the main menu for more information.

My first attempt at Ludum Dare. Got a bit sidetracked in the middle trying to create a vehicle segment that didn't work out, but what's here works well enough.

Mac and Linux builds are untested, but should work.

Timelapse video: http://youtu.be/n-AqQ-ui8_o

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#33Audio3.96
#89Overall3.84
#92Fun3.74
#123Mood3.70
#147Graphics3.90
#357Theme3.48
#577Innovation3.04
#988Humor1.79

Comments

moonmagic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46am

I enjoyed this! The first segment is definitely my favorite; collisions felt fair, the speed was quite exhilarating, and the rock formations look great. The tunnel bit was hard; difficult to feel the edges of my craft, I started hitting walls a lot once the speed increased.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

Moonmagic, thanks, the tunnel section was definitely more rushed than the first section and I agree it doesn't work as well. I wasted a lot of time trying to make it more of a vehicle driving section but when that wasn't going to work out in time, I changed it to use the same mechanics as the first level instead - but by then I didn't have much time left to make it something really interesting.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

That is a nice little game :) I liked the twist on this gameplay with sensitivity changes, really added more life and juice to it :)

I'd suggest you make yourself a pack of standard things to "juice up" games, such as screen shake and others for the next LD.
Well done!

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

Really liked this. Despite being one of the more high-speed entries I've played it came off as more relaxing. If I had to make a complaint it would be that the arcade-y sound effects don't go well with the serene music, but that's an understandable problem for an LD game.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:14am

@Taugeshtu: I know you're allowed to use existing libraries if you make them available beforehand, but that sort of thing seems a little bit cheaty. I would have had time to implement some screen shake etc if I'd been a bit more focused - maybe next time.

@Colorvade: Yeah, I thought about making all the sounds be piano-related sounds; maybe I should have.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23am

Awesome game. I liked the perspective aspect the most. The introduction "dive" is really cool.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Love that song. Also nice take on a retro style.

dan.marchand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

Love it! You should polish this up and publish it on mobile, I think it would be a lot of fun on the go.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01am

Beautiful graphics, great sound, smooth gameplay, 5 stars from me :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice. I'm a sucker for pseudo 3D. Much better using mouse for movement.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28am

I'm freeeee, free falling ! Wow, this art style looks really good, I enjoyed part one a lot. The piano is absolutely beautiful, well done =]

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

This pretty good. Nice music.

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Excellent game ! I enjoy it. The music give a good feeling. Great work.

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I liked the start tilting down, it was needed to feel like you are headed straight into the deep. would be cool to see to go black as you got deeper.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Really cool, loved the art and tone. This would feel good on a tablet or phone too.

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

@friken It does go black as you get deeper, but there is a spotlight on your sub which always provides some light.

shs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

The fading to black and the cave entrance were quite eerie.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:49am

I really enjoyed this. It's stylish and fun. Gets a bit hard to see where you are going when the tunnel gets tiny, but it's still fun

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Burquitlambadgers, I agree! The sub itself blocking your view is a big issue in the tunnel section. Would do that differently if I did it again.

elmoGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

Menu didn't load the level for me

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42am

Felt like I was flying into to the Death-Star during the second parte

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

My score:112,693. Needs concentration, I like the ship manoeuvrability.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

The music is good for zen-ing out to.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

95137, ammo went out. So pretty with this soundtrack. I wished there wes the end of the tunnel and a possibility to reload. Nice one.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:26am

A pretty solid game! I think the tunnel section was more fun and it could have come earlier and accelerated more quickly. As it is, the threshold to try and beat my high score is kinda highh since it takes a while for the game to take off. But other than that, I had fun and the visuals and audio worked well!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16pm

That's a great game. One of the best I've played in LD so far.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Really nice music made so far 104k score! I enjoyed the game.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I really enjoyed this game, i wasn't disappointed at all! I loved the music and it seem really easy to play. Awesome mood too.

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Enjoyed this a great deal :)
The music is so calming, I could just have it running in the background while doing other things, and I like the polygonish look of the graphics. I also liked the idea of having two phases, where the first one helps to extend your life.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I loved it! Music is pretty good, graphics are great, nice little game here! The tunnel section does feel a little unfair but I know what it's like to see the deadline approaching and have to amend plans at the last second.

Nition says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Thanks for the comments everyone. :)
Re scores: The scoring is a bit skewed because it should be mostly based on the depth you reach, but I gave too many points for picking up glowys, so it ends up being much more based on your glowy collection skills in part 1.

Also there IS an end to the tunnel section, if you're really good; but it loops back into another tunnel section.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Stylish and fun. Needs a little tuning here and there, but overall a great little game.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Great game! High score of 116k. One thing I would've definitely liked more would be a slightly tilted camera angle, to better determine where things are.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:01am

wow, really well done! congrats! i loved the atmosphere

Mikianthony says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27am

Nice and simple game, especially considering the scope of 48 hours. My only two complaints, is that the controls could have been more "fluid" adding force to the player instead of "instant" movement. And I felt like I was meant to loose in the second level, because I didn't have a way the regain bullets.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:08pm

The music was very nice, however it did not really fit with the game, or with the rest of the sound effects. Switching of phases was well done.

Marza says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Luv it! Wish there was some kind of ending, or a story about why we're diving so deep though :)

spotco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:25am

Music was enjoyable, though really didn't fit.

May 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Very nice! I can't give it many stars for innovation but it's solid on everything else. The flat-shaded aesthetic worked really well here and the mood is superb.

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Cool. Gave it me some vertigo.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]