Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bacteraemia

by TTFTCUTS - Jam Entry

Works best in Chrome because of JS engine speed, and obviously much better in Dartium if you happen to have it at hand.

Update: It seems the conversion from Dart to JS has hit the speed hard. I think a measure of it might be rendering related due to all the transparency. I'll see what tweaks I can do.
________

Take control of a bacterium just under the skin of a very sick human. Multiply and mutate your way to total system collapse!

If you can grow yourself a weapon, killing white blood cells is a great source of DNA, but be careful - killing them increases the immune response!

Starts slow and easy but gets much, much harder and more hectic as you progress. Consider searching for more plasmids instead of immediately levelling up.
________

Requires a WebGL capable browser (which is pretty much everything these days? Safari might need dev tools turning on.) You might also need to refresh the browser once if stuff doesn't load properly.

Written in Dart - the JS version is not thoroughly tested. One obvious issue is the Mitosis button DNA icon being missing for some reason.
________

Made by a team of four - with me programming, another doing art assets, and the other two providing concepts, writing and the title card.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Graphics(Jam)4.11
#122Innovation(Jam)3.61
#123Theme(Jam)3.67
#363Overall(Jam)3.22
#438Fun(Jam)2.89
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

DeathBread says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:24am

Hey :) This game looks very promising, but I am not able to actually play it, because nothing happens when I press the begin button.

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50am

What browser are you using? It works fine for me in Chrome.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

Got more laggy as I played

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07am

It didn't works with FireFox. I have a problem with the sprites and textures. I have only black cubes. So sad! This game looks promising ++

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16am

Yeah, it was slower than I hoped when transitioning from Dart to Javascript :(

The black boxes are, I think, the images failing to load in time for the start of the scripts. I've been trying to work out how to make sure it happens at the end, but dart isn't as helpful with that as JS.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Worked fine on Firefox, it was very smooth.
I think the gameplay is too slow, but it works for simulating the blood fluids.
It'd be helpful to now which direction the bacteria is facing right now, with maybe a mark or something.

My mother loved this game - to her it was educative and she said you seem to know a lot about this subject.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:13am

this really looked fun. I was only able to play a few minutes and then it got very slow. too bad. top marks for graphics and innovation

capnramses says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

really nice concept! the graphics look really good. im firefox+xubuntu. it was definitely too slow like there was too much going on in the update loop or something. bring on the edutainment!

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:57am

very fun game. would have been even better with more fluid control and sound.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25am

Nice Dart game :D
It's a shame that the compiler made it less playable.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The graphics, mood, and theme are all incredibly promising, but the control of it, and the objectives could be greatly improved. Overall, good work :D

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Very interesting concept. The controls were beating me at first but I think is a question of time to get used to it

Kastuk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Uh, sciencific! What about offline version?

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:50pm

It's written in HTML and Dart - due to that and the DOM security policies of most browsers, offline would be impossible without wrapping it with server software of some kind.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Fantastic visuals & good idea. Congratulations !

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:17am

Very cool. I liked the SCIENCE FACTS that popped up on the pause / upgrade screen. Glad to see Dart's making its way around the gamejam - did you use Box2D for physics, or implement your own collision handling?

hbocao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

The game looks so fun to spend time with, but it's to slow to move :( It looks so pretty too! Remind me of Fl0w from That Game Company, but with more stuff to do. Awesome idea!

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

baldwinthree, the physics were my own, but there's significant problems with it, carefully masked by using the best cases - at one point the vesicles could collide with each other, but they ended up flying off at lightspeed!
________

To everyone else, sorry for the slowness... the dart VM really is so much faster than JS that though I was expecting some slowdown, I wasn't expecting it to be *THIS* bad. I'll be making a couple of tweaks tomorrow to fix the nasty difficulty curve and try to speed it up.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20am

While I appreciate the effort that clearly went into it, the game needed some playtesting, to win would take a crazy amount of time (I really try to beat every game I review, but this game took me like 40 minutes to get to level 4) and it was very laggy.

I'm not putting down your game, because you did the hard part really well, unfortunately the little things like lag and balance hurt the gameplay experience too much. Keep at it though, you clearly have talent.

KayZ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Nice idea and game, but even in Dartium it started lagging after a while (got to level 4). Would have been nice if it was a bit more fast paced.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]