Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Siren Song

by mark.goetz - Jam Entry

Siren Song is a browser-based action game. Sing to sailors to lull them into submission before dragging them down into the abyssal depths, while dodging their deadly cannonballs. Build up combos to summon your ally Charybdis, who brings doom upon all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#51Theme(Jam)3.87
#71Innovation(Jam)3.77
#115Overall(Jam)3.64
#128Graphics(Jam)4.07
#166Fun(Jam)3.36
#174Humor(Jam)3.13
#296Mood(Jam)3.21
#506Audio(Jam)2.69

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice game! I like the tradeoff between using your siren and having breath... good design. The art is really impressive too.

reidrac says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Amazing art and good gameplay design. very solid entry, congratulations!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

This is a really good entry! I don't really have anything to criticize :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

That was awesome. I'm sad I am not good enough to summon Charybdis, but man did I want to. It got a little hectic around 15 points, the cannon balls seemed unavoidable, but that didn't stop me from restarting a dozen times just to rip sailor bones out. Great graphics, great fun, and good use of humor.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:46am

needed more sex appeal

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

That's great - very addictive. I loved the graphics - especially the siren. The crazy long shape makes it very difficult to dodge a barrage of cannonballs, but I guess that's part of the game. I would love to see a tiny bit more "physics" applied to the movement - so there was a very very short "slow down" before you turned around.

Great effort though - one of the most fun and addictive entries I've played so far.

asotelo94 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:58am

Nice game

ninjascript says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09am

Great graphics and extremely challenging. Well done!

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:09am

This is really good! Did you guys even sleep during that 72 hours?

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10am

Wow, nice and polished! I feel like it was too easy to get hit by the cannonballs, like they shouldn't damage me underwater.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:12am

I killed 63! Man, that summoning is sweet. Great gameplay balance, although being hit by underwater cannonballs as they sink feels cheap. You really have no place to hide when you have 20 cannonballs coming at you. Great art, awesome interpretation of the theme, rewarding gameplay, and no bugs that I saw. Great work!!!

May 1, 2014 @ 4:16am

brutal me gusto es difícil huir de los cañones pero muy bueno

mark.goetz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:23am

Wow, thanks everyone for the feedback! Definitely agreed on the number of cannonballs that come at you on higher difficulties, especially as compared to your character sprite. The hitbox is actually a little smaller than you'd expect though - your tail is actually invulnerable to getting hit.

@mrspeaker - good call on the turnaround. There's a bit of inertia in turning around, but I can increase that.

@hanoth - Yes, and we even did it in 48 instead of 72. :)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Pretty cool concept, great art!

vinull says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:28am

Nice take on the theme. Never managed to call Charybdis but I did try multiple times!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Clever - and lovely, original art.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Very awesome art, great game! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare compilation video if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-vf2U372Ego

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very nice mechanics!

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Really nice idea! The use of the breath meter is pretty clever. It quickly got very difficult to dodge the cannonballs, but I had fun. A solid entry, for sure! :)

Garris says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:56am

That escalated quickly! I really enjoyed this unique concept for a game. The controls were well done and eating a ship full of sailors was really satisfying xD It did feel like the difficulty ramped up really really fast, but this was really fun.

ThingoStudios says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

I liked this game quite a bit: clever take on the theme (you're literally beneath the ocean surface, but you're also hiding your desire to eat sailors!) The only aspect that bothered me was how BORING the siren's voice was... I don't understand how a bat sound could make sailors love you! But it's gorgeously drawn and pretty funny too.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:53am

Great game design! I really like the way all the mythological references were incorporated into the game.

petey123567 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Superfun! Input Protip: Z and Y and flipped on European keyboards, which makes the Z/X/C scheme a little twister-ey :)

HybridMind says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Good game! I enjoyed all the things I had to do and the challenge level was pretty decent. I scored about 50 or so. After I managed to summon Charybus the first time, then it got way too hard to dodge the cannon balls. Cool artwork!

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:19am

Clever use of the theme, nice and well-balanced mechanic :) ! I liked the graphics a lot. It's just too bad there isn't any music.

elefantopia says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:56am

Great game! Humorous graphics, especially the sailors under the spell of the siren song. It was definitely a challenge avoiding cannonballs.

CommanderJ says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:16am

Good job. I can't think of anything to make it better. Did I notice the cannonballs going slower under water? way to pay attention to detail.

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:27pm

@CommanderJ - indeed, you are correct!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]