Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

NanoDog

by mechabit - Jam Entry

Destroy the evil robot with NanoDog from within!

Music by Deceased Superior Technician

Tools:
Unity3D
2D Toolkit
Photoshop
Audacity
SFXR

Controls:
WSAD / arrow keys to move
Mouse to aim and fire
R to regenerate the level

Rooms are randomised but there's only 5 kinds of room.
Was originally going to add more levels with the dog shrinking down further to get deeper into the robot's innards but ran out of time.

Can you find the power meat?

Check out our blog for other games:

http://www.mechabit.co.uk

EDIT
Fixed some typos and added more builds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#53Humor(Jam)3.73
#141Fun(Jam)3.43
#358Mood(Jam)3.08
#410Audio(Jam)2.98
#413Overall(Jam)3.14
#529Graphics(Jam)2.96
#560Theme(Jam)2.73
#615Innovation(Jam)2.46

Comments

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45am

NICE! :D Love making the pup moonwalk, too. ;D

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

haha. the story is pretty funny. the game reminds me of the first legend of zelda game in the dungeons. very short, but nice! good job :3

Mondi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:47am

Very fun! Almost died in the end! =)

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

Haha, that's pretty funny. I like the Zelda-style dungeons, and that boss was weird. Good game!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

"Why did we give it adamantium hugging arms and loving gaze heat lasers?" lol, best line in the game. I think I got lucky and found the boss after only 3 or 4 rooms, but it was fun. Nice artwork especially on the cutscenes.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

I really dig the humor. The first time I clicked the mouse during gameplay... oh man, it was magical.

Good gameplay, too! I was a bit worried that the firing speed and/or bullet speed were too slow and was keeping an eye out for upgrades or something similar. I got to the end with no problems, though. Nice work.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53am

With a story dialog that long, I didn't expect the game to end that quickly. Maybe its randomized. Very cool art!

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:55am

Yes, I've saved the universe from the loving gaze heat lazers and adamantium hugging arms!

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58am

Neat little game. With more levels, and more to it than just shooting, and a little polish, could be something pretty neat!

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

Yeah, we planned on adding loads more stuff.. You can press R to regenerate the level, maybe you can find the power meat?

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

Quite hard to aim, but I got used to it. Love the art style and intro. is included in that! Sound great also... very retro.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

the dog left and right animations crack me up every time :)

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:48am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

The second game I've finished until the end! The graphic direction was a bit uncohesive, but the general idea was really funny. I only got damaged once, though, so maybe you want to rebalance the room difficulty (please note: I am not very good at Binding of Isaac).

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

@Solifuge I know what you mean, I threw in some coder art as we were strapped for time. The levels are a bit easy as they were meant to be the first of many :)

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I like the Binding of Isaac sort of design! :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Liked the story and humor, and it was fun to play. With some more content and polish this could be really fun!

kasarun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Really appreciate the art. I died once at the boss and finally beat it! Great work

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Why did I have to kill the robot? Didn't it just want hugs?!?

Overall a very silly game, and I liked it. I didn't read the controls first so it took me a little bit before I released I was supposed to shoot with the mouse.

It would have been nice to see what else could have been added if you had more time. It still managed to feel complete, just short.

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

@hitchh1k3r It's a hug bot gone rogue. It's destroying the city and no one can stop it... except NanoDog! If it makes you feel better about it they can plug in a new non-broken chip afterwards :)

muh_h says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03am

Very fun, nice graphics and the moonwalk was really cool

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:13am

Moon walking dog ftw :D I like how this is one of the few games that has an ending that's easy to get to.

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:05am

Great fun - classic twin stick and I love the dog sprite. Found it mega easy though - would have loved to play a really really hard version of this game :)

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice. It's like The Binding of Isaac with a dog!
Too short but the art was good :)

OddballDave says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Good fun. Was very easy though.

ccglp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Story is so bizarre xD, the dog is super duper cute!

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Damn, walked in to a room and almost instantly lost 2 whole hearts, talk about bad luck :P. Still managed to finish it on the first try. Nothing too fancy, but a nice little game!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

hbocao says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:41am

This is Japanese craziness quality here! Fun, funny and cool entry! haha

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59am

Iteresting take on an old Legend of Zelda concept. Very funny story and overall it's fun to play. Graphics need some improvement, but good result for a jam entry!

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Good Zelda I -like game, fun to play !

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:36pm

I like the random level generation. The game is funny too.

gre says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:35pm

YEAH! Dog with guns aimed to kill the evil robot with laser guns and electro music :-)
Crazy idea :-D
Short game though.

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:44pm

that was mindblowing

mechabit says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Thanks for the comments guys :)

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:36pm

An okay variation on Binding of Isaac.

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Oh WOW. That was a treat. Thanks so much for making :)

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:39am

Such a cool entry, but so short!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:18am

yes! I saved the world! great job - it was very fun and WAY to short

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:24am

Hahahahaha yes! I liked it :D Good game the story was enjoyable too.

Gamepopper says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Fairly good. Quite enjoyed that. :)

mechabit says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 7:31am

wow, 51st for humour, thanks guys :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]