Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tube

by BigBearScot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of this game is to paint the pixels of a given pattern. Sounds easy, but there is a catch you are not able to directly paint them.

You control the magnets "beneath" the "surface" of the screen, and by switching the magnets off and on you are able to guide the beam to the desired pixel. Beware however as there are dead pixels on the screen which cause you to lose points

Enjoy 5 levels of pixel painting goodness!

Controls
=====
Up or Down key: Toggle top magnet
Left or Right ket: Toggle bottom magnet
Space bar: Draw Pixel

Gameplay Footage
===========

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcK1-uLEAD4

PS. If you spot any bugs, please feel to post them here or tweet me on @BigBearScot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#299Innovation3.44
#586Audio2.72
#941Overall2.78
#956Theme2.71
#963Graphics2.53
#1081Fun2.35
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

vinull says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

When I tap the arrow keys it only works every once in a while.

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Do you mean it moves like this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ouiHxKVoEg&feature=youtu.be

If so, then that is the way I designed it :). You are turning on a magnet which pushes a beam across the screen.

If not, you have found a bug :)

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:50am

I guess it works as expected.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Cool concept, but sloooooooow game. Nice job overall!

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Thanks for the feeback, I wanted to keep it slow but ran out of tweaking time.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14am

Nice magnet mechanics. It would be better to increase the responsiveness of the controls and make it more dynamic

hathol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

Took me a while to figure out the controls (I don't read no stinking tutorials ;) ), but once I got the hang of it it's actually a nice wee game :) Well done!

BigBearScot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

hathol, Its a payable tutorial so no need to read :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Bonus points for a fully voiced tutorial :p Nifty little game, once you get the hang of it. Only main thing is I'd've liked the dot to move a bit faster :D

NicoM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:27am

Interesting mechanic, nice job:)

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:30am

Nice concept ! Easy to learn and hard to master, good job !

Teesquared says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice idea using magnetics to control movement. It created a fun puzzler. Theme was a little bit of a stretch but fun game :)

klianc09 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Weird controls, but I got used to them after a while. The idea is nice, but it's quite slow and missing some challenge besides the dead pixels, which aren't much of a hindrance.

BigBearScot says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Thanks for the feedback, yep the game is a bit too slow and there isn't much challenge really. Next time, I'm spending more time on polishing up the core experience.

mortus says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:36am

Nice concept. I would like an ability to turn magnets to attract mode though. And you've mentioned that already and I agree that you need more mechanics or more fast-paced gameplay maybe to make it more fun. Right now it's too simple and slow for me. But I like the idea, it just needs some work and polishing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]