Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by mandrake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move. Press 'Escape' to close the application at any time. '+' and '-' to adjust the volume.

This runs on windows, but feel free to try it out on other operating systems and let me know how it goes!

For my first LD ever, I'd say I did pretty good! :)

My highscore is in the picture.

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#406Mood3.16
#490Theme3.34
#520Graphics3.22
#767Fun2.78
#778Audio2.31
#788Overall2.94
#810Innovation2.71
#924Humor1.90

Comments

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Enjoyed it. The difficulty builds effectively, and it has nice macabre mood. The kind of floating, gliding controls (I'm not sure exactly how to describe it. The way it accelerates and de-accelerates to suit being on water) were a good addition to the gameplay, an extra challenge.

It would have been really good if it had some sullen, ethereal music. The sound effects are okay, though, even if not that remarkable.

Managed 9 souls, in case anyone's interested.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Minimal gameplay, though very nice and polished. Fun and challenging. Some simple music would add to the mood.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

The graphic, sound and story fit together nicely. Gameplay was a bit lacking. Nice that it gets harder and that you can see your score.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:53pm

simple but nice game :)

czery says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

Pretty unique interpretation of the theme. It was a refreshing change to the generic "underwater" game.

As mentioned below, more could be done with sound. Perhaps the addition of some ambient waves or spooky music.

Nevertheless, fun game! Hope to see more.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:02am

Paper ship :O, nice art.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Cool game :D! I like the simple, but difficult mechanic. And the way the paper boat gets lifted up by the black claw and then slowly dragged down is pretty awesome :]!
One problem I did have with the game is that brightness can be an issue. I couldn't get past 1 soul until I turned up my screen brightness and turned off f.lux. But hey, maybe it's just hard mode when it's dark!
Great game overall, and I love being a paper boat rescuing souls before losing my paper boat soul to the depths >:]

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36am

Gameplay is a bit too slow. I think something a bit more nevous could really improve the challenge and fun of your game :)

parDal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

Simplicity is a keyword for your game.

You managed to make what a few managed to accomplish (and I exclude myself from this), a good, solid and entertaining experience.

First, I would like to praise the pixel art, it's just... fine. (Really, I don't know how to express it in words, it's not excellent, but not bad either, considering that the latter is the common ground among the compo participants, you did it very well.)

Second, the gameplay is effective, the sliding mechanic is kinda hard first, but as soon as you get the practice, it turns to a nice challenge, considering that the difficulty constantly turns up, it's even better.

I just missed some music, well, maybe you didn't have the time.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I quite enjoyed it. :D
My only advice would be to maybe be spawning some more stuff early in, because for me atleast, it seemed to slow at the start. :)
Well done. :D

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Simple game mechanics (but I say that as in there's nothing wrong about it) :). The art is nice, but I would have loved to see some spooky music and sound effects.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:50am

Pretty nice. I only made it to 3 souls but I really love the mood. Could use a little more variety with the slow pacing and some more ambient sound to help the mood.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Nice game. Love the art. Controls were very responsive and felt fair. Simple concept, well executed.

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Fun game! The sounds of the lost souls was sad. It was difficult moving fast enough to save any, but I did get one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]