Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

What Lurks Beneath

by Azumante - Jam Entry

What lurks beneath the surface on this normal fishing trip?

Use A and D to move back and forth
Use F to fish, pickup drift wood and use items
Use I to open the store

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#414Humor(Jam)2.45
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#463Overall(Jam)3.06
#510Fun(Jam)2.74
#581Innovation(Jam)2.57
#604Audio(Jam)2.22
#639Mood(Jam)2.50
#716Graphics(Jam)2.23

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I really enjoyed this, some of the driftwood wasn't able to be picked up periodically though but other than that a sweet game

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09am

Fun little game... a bit grindy but good. The ending was unexpected, happened just as a nice rhythm was developing. Could really benefit from some music and sound effects.

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:11am

Pretty good entry. The graphics could have been better but I really enjoyed your use of the theme.

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27am

Cool game

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

Nice game, the store is cool

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It was quite fun. Good job on the graphics.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

It was a bit repetitive, but overall not bad. It would have been nice to have something to do other than move back and forth pressing f.

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

Cool little game. I recommend through you make a web version since it is Unity and it can easily be done, also I think you should change the sprites filter mode to point, it would look alot nicer.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I like the combination of the upgrade trees with the action. I noticed the crane wouldn't grab most driftwood automatically which was a bit annoying. I tried to destroy the octopus but he got me first.

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I wasn't sure at first then I got the scanner. This was really good in many ways. plot progression was unexpected and cool. Awesome!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:56am

I enjoyed that - altho it would have been nice to know that my ship was taking damage when the squid appeared!! nice job

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]