Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doug: The Endless Digger

by 5T4MP5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A slightly different take on the "runner".

Tools:
Unity
Audacity (audio recorded raw and edited in Audacity)
ASEPRITE for art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#241Humor3.00
#540Fun3.03
#554Theme3.27
#713Innovation2.85
#734Audio2.41
#931Mood2.56
#1099Overall2.56
#1246Graphics1.63

Comments

danbo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06am

DOUG DIED DIGGING

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48am

He did...but he was pleased.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Nice job. Died for no reason though, or it didn't tell me at least :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

You may want to post a non compressed copy of your web build. That way people won't have to download anything to play.

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

micdoodle, there are some issues with the collision on the rocks. Instances where you could wear one like a hat with nothing happening, and once or twice I got killed being near one. TBH didn't get to spend as much time ironing this thing out as I would have liked. I am still relatively new to unity, so a good amount of my time was spent fixing more critical bugs. Team Purple Dolphins, I will go ahead and do that. Thanks for checking it out.

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58am

Kong link now for the web version.

cudabear says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Fun idea! I liked the concept, but the game itself is nearly impossible to play. The camera moves way too late... since the only way we go is down or left/right, why do we so much above us? The death detection seems poor, I would die randomly even though I didn't touch any bombs. I also crashed the game twice (from flinging blocks, I think). The graphics are... poor, to say the least. Loved the humor though, DOUG DIED DIGGING! I'd love to see this polished up a bit and released as a mobile game! Good work.

Christophe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:13pm

What is beneath the surface? I Like that feeling of wondering what is beneath... Good Mood! Fun to play.

5T4MP5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

cudebear thanks for the feedback. I am frankly with you on every point. The random death actually has to do with the rocks. The idea was for the rocks to trigger death if they collided with your head at a certain y velocity. The detection on it is pretty jacked, and it seems from the feedback that it isn't at all well communicated. I plan on spending the next few weeks making it work and posting it to Kong. Thanks again.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:54am

Really cool! I like it a lot! Yeah, there are some things you could tidy up, but that's not the point of the Jam, now is it? :)

madmaw says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:00am

I find this really charming

AgeNt_ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Fun game, has a lot of potential but I cant help to be deterred away from the game with its awful stick figure and paint style graphics. Also it would be nice if it had a random levels instead of the same patterns over and over.

paps says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:47pm

hahaha, the bomb was off screen and... well doug died digging!! nice idea. i tried some alternate route, but ultimately... "DOUG DIED DIGGING"

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:16pm

I echo this, DOUG DIED DIGGING. I actually like this the best out of all the digging games, no constant clicking.

Skipi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24am

Doug got so rich, hitting gold vein after gold vein. But ultimately, he died digging. So sad. :'(

I like the idea you had going here. :P

randoman says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:51pm

The game seemed very predictable at the beginning but I like how you made the screen only low after a certain point. It made the game much more challenging and fun

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:35pm

DOUG DIED DIGGING! I like it, very good. I feel as though the graphics could have been improved, though I'm sure you know that. Over all, the gameplay felt pretty tight.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]