Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Roverboard

by cottontrek - Jam Entry

Roverboard is an exploration game set on an alien planet.
Control a rover along the unknown and haunting terrain.

This is a basic prototype!
I will continue working on Roverboard (ie: making organisms interact with environment, etc.), but for now enjoy the basic atmosphere.

Thanks for your time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#71Mood(Jam)3.87
#149Graphics(Jam)3.98
#173Audio(Jam)3.50
#614Humor(Jam)1.83
#615Overall(Jam)2.75
#665Innovation(Jam)2.31
#665Theme(Jam)2.41
#716Fun(Jam)2.10

Comments

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:34am

Reminds me of Blaster Master and An Untitled Story.:) Too bad there isn't really interaction, the atmosphere seems very nice!

mjrevel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Not much to do but as you mentioned the atmosphere is fairly nice to roam around in.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Very moody, curious to see what this develops into

João Kucera says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:55am

Good graphics.

Almost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34am

It looks and sounds nice.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:06am

I don't see the game here, but the background is nice.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:18am

Impressive prototype for 48 hours. The effects and atmosphere are great. Keep it up!

CluelessGames says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27am

Nice effects!

manabreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:28am

I liked the controls and the animations a lot. The graphic style was cool. I roamed through the entire map. :)

As you already inted to continue on this, I'll just say... Do it!

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:34am

You've got a nice atmosphere and some solid controls. Pity you only had time for a small tech demo.

lucienpro says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:19am

Very nice mood and atmosphere, like the dust that flew past and the graphics, needed a bit more interaction though, good job!

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:29pm

You nailed the atmosphere! The art and sound effects remind me a lot like the game Sword & Sworcery. I'm looking forward to trying a full version.

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:29pm

This is going to be a repeat of what everybody else said; but excellent atmosphere! The ambience/music was great. I did not really like the "jump" sfx though. I hope you'll continue work on this :-). Looking forward to exploring beneath the surface

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Very atmospheric!

607 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:30pm

This has quite some potential. Not much to do though, as you said.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:39pm

the link opens on a blank page :/

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:52pm

yeah, the link isn't working for me either. :/

cottontrek says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Sorry about the link, it seems the host site is down for a bit. I've added an alternate link.

Thanks for all the feedback!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:56pm

nice atmosphere, the background sounds are great. very pretty too

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great mood, like the explosion effect on the ground and the sounds are great!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:27pm

I fell off the edge of the world D:

This is a good tech demo! The colors are well-chosen (nice sky!), controls are smooth, and I was intrigued by the pagoda-like structures in the background. Good work on your story/framing narrative, too. When the game started up I was worried it was going to be sort of cheesy, but there was something really nice about that dichotomy--being on the surface of the planet, and beneath the surface of the acid clouds.

I was a little bit distracted by all of the particle effects, though. Their being so synchronized and rhythmic was kind of irritating. I'm having an unusually difficult time explaining why, though. If it's necessary for the game, maybe you could change up the rhythm a little bit? The overall contrast between the very blocky terrain, and the very smooth and rounded, almost bubbly particle effects, clashed.

Thank you for the game!

Harsay says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Cool effects and graphics! Very moody, but it doesn't feel like it was a game.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Wish there was more to do in this game, but cool nonetheless! Very atmospheric. Reminds me a lot of Knytt (go check it out if you haven't, its awesome!) Nice use of ambient sounds.

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Not much to add, because the other comments nail it. Atmosphere is truly fantastic! This will be lots of fun when there's more to do. Grats!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Looking forward to seeing you next Ludum Dare, maybe with a bit more game :-)

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Awesome graphics style. Especially I love background. Keep moving. Hope it'll great game!

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Really cute rover. it's very expressive for something simple. good job.

Exergy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

It got a nice feeling. Nice camera movement and good looking graphics.

teambrookvale says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Awesome graphics!

HybridMind says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:04am

Nice moody environment. Not sure how I feel about the bird sounds though in that type of world. Doesn't feel right. I liked the other drone sounds and the swirling clouds. Would've been cool to see more gameplay for sure.

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:11am

It is really hard to make a playable prototype in such short amount of time, but your game is enjoyable, good ambience and precise controls.

Btw: It is just me or the rover looks like one of these? http://0.s3.envato.com/files/76631946/preview%20image.jpg.

lajos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:17am

Beautiful!

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:31am

Really nice looking with some good atmosphere. There doesn't seem to be a whole lot to do - some more challenging platforming sections probably would help in the gameplay department.

May 4, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Awesome visuals, audio and camera. Nice theme interpretation.
Would love to see this as an actual game!

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Excellent start to something that could be really great. Doesn't feel like there's a game here, yet, but a ton of potential.

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:18pm

See great potential for further development of the game!

Delca says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:14pm

I enjoyed the basic atmosphere, and I wanna see more of this!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]