Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flipside

by NathanBrower - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: It is recommended you download and play the .exe, as the web based html5 version's audio will slow down after a few minutes of playing.

===Description===
Flipside is a game in which you take control of B.O.B (Bionic Operations Bot) in his quest to collect stars in 9 fun levels. To navigate each level, B.O.B can toggle between moving above, or below the red surface. While below the surface, gravity's direction will be reversed, so take care!

===Controls===
A and D ------------ Left and Right
Space -------------- Jump
Shift -------------- Toggle Surface

===Tools Used===
Game Maker Studio
GIMP
Blender
ParticleDesigner
BFXR
GarageBand

I will upload a timelapse video later, so stay tuned.

Thank you for looking, and I hope you enjoy playing Flipside!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#110Overall3.77
#133Audio3.54
#138Fun3.62
#178Theme3.71
#283Innovation3.47
#368Graphics3.45
#431Mood3.13
#550Humor2.44

Comments

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

I liked the level design.

CrackedP0t says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

I liked it!
Also, the web version worked fine for me.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34am

I like the gameplay. Good job.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35am

Great action and great puzzles. It needed a whole boat load of polish but a great solid base pre-polish.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42am

Pretty cool. The controls were a little annoying but I got used to them. I like it, good job

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09am

Good job. Web version worked fine for me too.

Jakub Koziol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Level design is really promising + interesting puzzles. Controls are quite a bit annoying when it comes to simple movement so parts of the game that should be easy turn out to be pretty annoying.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

I noticed a glitch when I flipped sides I got stuck in the floor (half way through the floor). The game is fun though.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty cool concept. Nothing sophisticated but very well done, simple and fun to play. Good job!

Dans17 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:44am

Reminded me a little bit of Shift. Still a really good game with good gameplay and level design.

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:42pm

On my first attempt the robot wouldn't move to the left for some reason. Restarting cleared it up though, fortunately & in the end I liked this game quite a lot.

The puzzles are good and it's a really nice use of the theme. The controls are a bit imprecise so I ended up missing a few jumps, which was frustrating, but overall I like what you've done here!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Awesome level design, I love this kind of game...

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:31pm

The bouncing was cute, but a bit annoying when I wanted to flip quickly after landing from a fall.

Anti says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice gameplay and graphics! The level design is also awesome!

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Awesome. Really cool game.

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Great use of the theme. Loved it! :)

JoshRespawns says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Great Game!

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Full videoreview here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0cbhYdeImQ&feature=youtu.be

May 5, 2014 @ 1:28am

The audio seemed to glitch out after a while, but it was a good game regardless.

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Cool audio ! Nice graphics, good job ;)

CiderPunk says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:38pm

really nice puzzles! the annoying jumping small gaps with momentum kinda detracted, but overall really cool! crackin' audio!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]