Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Pirate's Cove

by Erfeo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Defend your treasure filled cavern against the authorities!

I kind of like the concept but it was too ambitious for the time and skills I had.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#390Fun3.21
#579Humor2.41
#648Innovation2.93
#717Overall3.00
#770Mood2.75
#836Graphics2.72
#1144Theme2.24

Comments

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:38am

that was pretty cool... it took me a second to figure out what was going on, but after a second it made sense. wondering why everyone jumps when you press the jump button though...

Erfeo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Ah, that was a bug. The game is played with WSAD but the arrow keys were still enabled which doesn't work properly. They're disabled now.

Thanks for playing!

BMacIntosh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:16am

I love where this is going. It was quite satisfying to aim and fire that little pixelly gun for some reason!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The concept is interesting but there is no sound, no music, maybe some sounds and music could have helped.

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Fun little take on tower defence, really through me off when those fast guys started taking random paths

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:50pm

This is a cool concept, more or less a tower defense game but I like the variation with the character controls. Nice job on the cool down after shooting. I hope you keep working on this.

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Really fun game! I encountered a bug in the second level: the enemies did not want to approach the treasure and jumped back up each time they got down to the last 3 blocks.
Though you said it was too ambitious, the only downside I can really think of is the lack of sound. You did great!

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Fun game concept! It does seem like you underestimated the time constraints involved but what you've got here is pretty great!

MintArcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:50am

Very cool game concept and considering time limit it's very nice.

Tomski says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:53am

Awesome, really fun, great animations on the main character, reloading cracked me up.

Nezzhil says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:16pm

A little confusing about how to reload at first, but good concept

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:45pm

the second stage is brutal! pretty interesting idea, i liked the reloading. never seemed to put the barrels to much use

Erfeo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Yeah, the barrels worked better on paper. The bullets slightly pierce so you can hit a barrel behind an enemy, but it's still rarely useful, I'm still thinking of a solution for that.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:56am

Controls are ok, pity that it lacks some audio! :-)

Erfeo says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Yeah, some basic audio would've been nice. I've added some in the mean time. You can play it here if you're interested:
http://a-pirates-cove-1-1.bitballoon.com/
I've also added a new turret and some minor improvements.

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice! I like the idea of only having a single bullet at a time. The aiming did not always work for me and the bullet just went strait to the left. Still a nice game!

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This was fun! The sprites were great and the reloading animation made me chuckle. The concept was good but the implementation was a bit lacking. Really needs the audio and polished graphics with more animations. Anyway it was fun and I enjoyed it, well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]