Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

deep down

by Jan Peter (jpdev) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The small yellow submarine with it's heroic crew is on a deep sea mission. Far below the surface it has to defend itself against an onslaught of vicious sharks and later on other submarines.

Controls:
Use Cursor-Up & Cursor-Down (or "W" and "S") to move the sub
Use Space to shoot torpedoes.

This game is pure JavaScript - it should be playable in all HTML5-browsers. (I have tested IE 11, latest Firefox and latest Chrome)

The sprites are drawn with pencil on paper and then edited and colored in gimp and arranged with paint.net.

It's build with the help of the gaming framework phaser (http://phaser.io).

The sound effects are created with sfxr (sound effect generator by DrPetter).

The background music is created with autotracker-bottomup (#ultimate audio experience by GreaseMonkey).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#271Humor2.94
#381Audio3.03
#388Overall3.34
#390Fun3.21
#432Theme3.40
#496Graphics3.25
#530Mood3.00
#917Innovation2.58

Comments

Pokefan9987 says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 8:00pm

That was great :3 I love it

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 1:43am

I like how the sharks just get bigger and bigger. . . :)

hanoth says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

I like the look and feel of this.

Recon says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:12am

Good game but there isn't an ammo counter, so if I go straight in a line and shoot torpedoes I won't die. Improve it.
Good game.

Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:52am

Thank you all for the feedback.

to Recon:
- there is now a score, if you shoot and hit nothing you are punished
- there are now rocks so you can't stay in a straight line on the lower half of the screen
- there will be enemy submarines on the top half of the screen... (not yet though)

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:15am

Is a cool little concept :) Yet I believe it lacks some gameplay and art. If you were to add extra ways to gather points that'd be cool!

Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Okay, I am done now.
Latest features: enemy submarine and a completion screen

Enjoy :)

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Nice, cook art. and Controls were just floaty enough.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

The controls are floaty in a good way: it feels like you're steering a submarine. Blowing up sharks is very satisfying.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

Neat, who doesn't like blowing up sharks? The music was really nice too!

louiscarl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Love it! With the slow torpedoes, hitting a shark is just terribly satisfying!

GreenyUk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

Solid game. Found it a bit slow but nice work overall :)

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32am

I enjoyed this game overall. I thought that the sub was a bit hard to move, but then again anything underwater should be.

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07am

If I were more educated on animal rights, I'd have some serious concerns about this game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:11am

Really fun, the movement and torpedo shooting feels just right!

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Love that you drew the art on paper. Quite fun.

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Whoa, full screen loading bar..! That's kinda cool...
+1 for sharks, +1 for EXPLOSIONS, and +1 for shark gibs..! End of game stats are always awesome...
I like how the sub gets damaged as you ram sharks...

oal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Really nice cartoony look. Good job on the controls as well - it feels like you're under water.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Nice but where are the other submarines to shoot ?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Thanks for all the feedback.

monaarc: After ten shark-kills you get one submarine, then it's ten shark-kills again.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

It's nice to come across sounds made with sfxr that are NOT a pain to the ears. Thank you :)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I love that scrolling algae! The controls are very smooth.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:23am

Good sound design. The sharks exploding is satisfying. The gameplay is a little sluggish, but it's a finished game. I also liked the stats at the end - that could go somewhere a la jetpackjoy ride missions.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:51am

I like the music! Nice graphics.
I also like the summary at the end with all the achievements.

But a health meter for my submarine would be great and some powerups or something.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I liked the summary at the end, I was wondering: is it possible to get a positive score?
I think it could be easily improved, but for 48 hours this is quite good.

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08pm

This game is very fun to play, you did a great job on it. The difficulty is increasing just as it should, the inertia of the submarine adds difficulty. The graphics/audio are pleasant. Kept me entertained for quite a long time :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Thanks again for the comments.

@Gaspard: yes, positive score is no problem, you get -5 for each shot you miss, just don't miss and you're golden ;)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice shmup. I would have expected the torpedos to be launched in the direction of the submarine ( not always horizontally ). Is that a choice?

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:05am

Pretty cool game.
I like the little detail with how the submarine gets banged up!

kasarun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:53am

Really loved this one - well done parallax. Graphics are dope :)

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:10am

Not bad. The sub movement felt pretty smooth, and the parallaxing looked nice.

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:11am

This is a fun little game. It doesn't break any barriers, but it's a run romp I can come back to now and then. And I must admit that the controls & speeds of everything feel just right, as does the rate at which the sharks get bigger and bigger. Good work!

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Really good fun. I love the art, with the seaweed layer up close and the sub movement feels good. Audio was cool too.

psychonull says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Good job, liked how the movement/controls are working.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Cool game with nice overall feeling.

IAmSpencer says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:14pm

loved the way the sub controlled, it felt like it was really under water, great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]