Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sharks With Feelings

by fermenter - Jam Entry

"The shark who loses feels awful, but the shark who wins feels even worse. This is the state of shark kind; these are sharks with feelings."

This game is a TWO-PLAYER shark-fighter or something. Humans are ammo, jellyfish are rad, and mines are dangerous.

Player 1: 'W,A,D'+'Spacebar'
Player 2: 'Arrow keys'+'Ctrl'
('Esc' to quit. 'R' to Restart if needed.)

//

HEY YOU, On MacOSX: if you get an error claiming the application is damaged go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy, click the lock at the bottom of the window to unlock, change "Allow apps downloaded from" to "Anywhere"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#59Humor(Jam)3.70
#120Mood(Jam)3.68
#188Audio(Jam)3.47
#247Theme(Jam)3.41
#274Fun(Jam)3.16
#286Graphics(Jam)3.59
#305Innovation(Jam)3.16
#353Overall(Jam)3.24

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54am

Very cool game!! Concept and cool 2-Player mode. Is there a way where you can win? (I tried escaping :P)

BadgerPriest says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29am

When I tried opening it I got a warning that the file was damaged and couldn't be opened. (MacbookPro, Mavericks)

fermenter says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:39am

On MacOSX: if you get an error claiming the application is damaged go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy, click the lock at the bottom of the window to unlock, change "Allow apps downloaded from" to "Anywhere"

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02am

Everybody loses when sharks have feelings, eh? Sounds about right.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

There should have been a way for the sharks to win. Maybe escape from the arena?

eerongal says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:34am

I like the part where "shark" is an action. :P

sudorossy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:45am

Really unique graphics. Difficult game.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01am

Great game, music matched the vibe perfectly :)

May 1, 2014 @ 1:04am

Windows, Mac aaaaaand... I think you're missing one.

fermenter says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21am

@arrogant.gamer Linux? Web? Board Game?

May 1, 2014 @ 5:02am

Really creative idea. Sadly I had to try and play as both sharks because no one else was around. I could see this being really fun to play with someone else

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06am

Heh, pretty fun. I like how I could get out of bounds with both sharks.

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17am

Interesting. Shark fighting game is a cool concept; the controls were a bit frustrating and it was hard to damage the other player. We died from the mines and getting both stuck in a corner.

The narrative was a bit weird and meandered a lot before getting to the actual game. More gameplay, less self-indulgence.

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:16am

The graphics were really nice, but maybe you could make some improvement on the controls, nice overall.

kacperski1 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:27pm

That game wasn't the best I've played, but the music is purely awesome. And the graphics are cool :)

May 8, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Hey! You've been featured on the Button Masher Bros series - LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxYzJdCreCk

jujule says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Cool concept served by fantastic graphics. I loved the little stick figures being dropped in the water. Was it difficult to have a continuous rotation for the sharks rather than discret positions? It makes the controls a bit difficult. Nonetheless, an impressive entry.

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Cool game and idea,
it would be great if you could make a computer controlled shark so I could play (forever alone) :o

fermenter says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:06am

THE CROWD HAS SPOKEN, and you can play Sharks With Feelings forever alone (single player) now. Also custom key configs. WOO!

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Very cool game but found hard to control the sharks

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Ops, just saw you published an update. Downloading now

meszka says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Interesting backstory and great audiovisuals. Nice touch with the music changing when above the water surface :)

fermenter says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:08am

randoman, is the lack of control frustrating or does it add to the thrill of battle? I think it makes a certain amount of skill be necessary and more thought needed to execute attacks/moves, and I like that.

Glad you noticed, meszka! Thanks!

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:23pm

After the casually dismissive comment you left about my game, I really wanted to dislike this one - but I can't. It's pretty damn good.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]