Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

FISH!

by poxpoxpox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fishing game.
Move with left and right arrow. Fish with spacebar.

Have fun!

(My first Ludum Dare btw)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#289Overall3.46
#292Fun3.37
#357Theme3.48
#520Graphics3.22
#550Humor2.44
#586Audio2.72
#713Innovation2.85
#836Mood2.67

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

The way the boat moves n.n

Not really sure how the point system works, maybe some "Well done!" "Combo x5!" and "+200" would make things easier to grok.

OTOH, its simple, has a nice scoring system, and makes me want to try a couple times to get a better score

Also...

That little boat tilt animation <3

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:49am

Fishing line animation and control are top notch.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:01am

Just a note for others - if you get the "Requires msvcp120.dll error", install the Visual C++ Redistributable Packages: http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=40784 - only the x86 version worked for me, even on 64-bit Windows 7.

pansapiens says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:05am

Solid & complete game, fun to play - great work. Not sure I get the visual instructions on the title screen (purplefish < turtle ?), but I was able to figure out the scoring by trial and error. I agree with Gaeel with regard to better feedback on combos - I never figured out if 3x was just three fish on line, or if I was getting a score multiplier.

As requested yesterday .. I played it on Twitch :) http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4171677 -- was good enough to keep coming back to, filling the time while other games downloaded :)

May 2, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Dude our games look very similar. Nice work.

Troy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:28am

Great game! A little more feedback on how the scoring system would be amazing. Otherwise shows great polish for something made something in so little time. Nice work!

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:29am

Great first entry!

Chinchilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice little game! Could be pretty addictive if it had online leaderboards, maybe.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:35am

Reminds me of the fishing game I used to play for Atari. Simple, but fun. Good stuff. :)

01F0 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

Great work on the fish AI, that black fish sure makes it tricky catching fish.. (in a good way!) I really like the feeling of throwing out the fishing line, the way it "applies" the throw when you release the space button. Top score: 2660.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:46pm

This is the second game I am missing msvcr120.dll for. Any tips on how to make it run on 64-bit system?

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:34pm

interesting game. I could kind of break it by moving once i had the fish on the hook, then all I'd have to do was double tap space to get the points.

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Simple and little, but complete game. Well done. The game would definitely benefits from an online high score board.

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:20am

This is cool, cool cool cool. My mother has no idea how to play, her high score is a fifth of my lowest score,

SnoringFrog says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:59am

Hey, I got the OSX version of my game up and working again. I'm not sure why it went down, but I was able to download and play it without any issues just a moment ago.

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:45am

"The program can't start because MSVCP120.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:49am

And after finding MSVCP120.dll and installing it, "The applicatoin was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b). Click OK to close the application.

Too bad, I really wanted to try this out. It looks a lot like Activision's Fishing Derby for Atari 2600, and I was curious to see how it played.

csanyk says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:58am

Got it running by installing the Visual C++ 2013 x86 package as pansapiens recommended, and I really liked it! Could be a direct sequel to Fishing Derby!

bvssvni says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 7:17pm

This was brilliant!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]