Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It goes on

by Xangotrick66 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"It goes on"
This is my first Ludum Dare entry. It was made using Unity, coded in C#, and artwork was done thanks to Paint.NET mainly, but also sfxr.

I knew that Beneath the Surface would make people go for the whole digging stuff, and diving, so I thought I might try something different.

The original purpose was to explore how beneath our appearances, there lies a sea of torments. However, being that it's my first entry, I clearly sought out too big a challenge.

I tried to make a sort of trading card game based on life and emotions, but ran out of time for the card making part x). Thanks for playing it, anyhow!

////////////// Important ///////////////
Gameplay help:
The first step upon loading the game, is to edit thedefault deck:

Go in Deck Building, from the main menu.

From here you can choose to make a new deck, or simply use "Default" deck, which has one card in it. What is in the currently selected deck is in the middle. On the left are all the cards you can add to the deck.
More is explained on the cards later.

When satisfied, leave the menu, by clicking Return.

-Go to new game.
-Choose a deck.
-Then you are presented with your parenthood card, you can reroll it once if you don't like it. It will be a card associated to you during the entire game.
-Then you enter the main game area. On the right, your stats. There is no loose state, sadly, but the original point was to maintain a "Health" > 0.
On the left is your hand, and your current attributes(one of them being your parenthood choice.
In the middle is the board. You can zoom in and out, with your mouth scroll, and arrows will move you around the map.

There are two types of cards: green cards are acts, and are placed on the board. Pink and Salmon cards go directly to the attributes.

Green cards can be placed on any "blue" space on the map.

However:

Any card placed on the board can turn against you, some are more prone to turning against you than others(fast food and couch potato are more dangerous than walking, for instance)
When a card is corrupted, you are warned by the fact it turns red, and a noise. You can get rid of them if you have all your willpower points for the turn, by clicking on them.

Every 5 turns, a new disaster will happen, knowing that if you have the "faithful" attribute you will not suffer from the "BlackMail" disaster(cuz if you are faithful, you will not cheat on your wife, hence rendering blackmailing impossible)

I hope these explanations are clear, and thanks for having read them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#596Innovation3.00
#830Humor2.05
#875Audio2.08
#1018Theme2.56
#1024Mood2.42
#1131Graphics2.19
#1236Fun1.78
#1242Overall2.11
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Fasox says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Seems like a good and fun idea, but the same card is give to me every turn, maybe is not well implemented.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:35am

I enjoy computer trading card games (Hearthstone, anyone?), and I found this game interesting. However, I couldn't completely figure out how this game works. I placed some cards, beat some red thingies (?)... This probably could use a tutorial or extensive instructions. :)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

I didnt know where to start but then the gameplay is awesome!

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

I like that you tried to do something more challenging and impactful with the theme. You can tell you put a lot of effort into the system where the game takes place. I read through and understood the help, but I didn't understand the placement of the cards, or exactly how my selections were impacting the playfield. Maybe you can update the description here with a tutorial on how to play?

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

I kept getting the "mundane" card. I wasn't sure what to do or what my goal was. The game play sure did get me in the feels though, playing "mundane" over and over, then getting "overworked" and "unemployed", along with an attribute card that I get less reward from social interactions! The game has some really cool potential for some interesting commentary on life, I really like the way you use cards, but the gameplay was a little unclear.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

I would love to see this game fleshed out and maybe explained better.. I see you already said sorry for your brief help notes :)

I played anyway until I had -34 life... which was about the time I think I was realising what I had to do (but how do I stop the runway negative cards? surround them?)

This could easily be a neat little game with more time spent on it... as you said, trying to represent the human psychological experience in a 48hr card game is optimistic :D

I liked the philosophical theme and mood at the start.

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Alright, thanks for commenting! Will write a better tutorial in the instructions. As for the fact of always drawing the same card, it's once again my lack of implementing a tutorial:
One is supposed to make a deck first, in the Deck Building section, first. Will clarify all in a proper explanation in description.
Thanks for your answers!

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

At first I had no idea what I was suppose to do which is probably not the best thing because if you have to read the help button its probably not an easy game. Overall I loved the graphics but the theme makes no since to me.

Almost says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

I was able to make a deck and start a game, but there are too many keywords and abstract concepts to quickly understand.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I think the concept you have is a really neat one - however, with some turns I couldn't really figure out how to play it. I kept getting the same card (Mundanity) when I ended my turn - is that supposed to happen?

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I knew I should have made a more complete default deck ><. Really you are supposed to edit it first, in the Deck Editing menu (it's in the main menu)

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02am

Really ambitious idea, though I had no idea what I was doing.

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Very ambitious of you to tackle a project like this. There definitely seems to be a foundation here, it's just difficult to grasp coming in as a complete outsider. Don't let this deter you though. Keep working on this card game. They are hard to pull off, but so much fun when you do. Keep up the good work!

Jason Lay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:30am

Couldn't figure out what to do right away. Couldn't figure out the link to the theme either. I think it may have some potential though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]