Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nether

by zdonkeyx - Jam Entry

Puzzle Platformer | Unity | Illustrator | Solo-Jam

Movement - WASD / Arrow Keys
Jump - Space
Ability - Space (While in air)
Restart - R
Move Camera Up - W / Up Arrow (Post Jam Version Only)
Move Camera Down - S / Down Arrow (Post Jam Version Only)


This was my first jam :D Hopefully you like it. I had a lot of fun designing the mechanics and puzzles.

All art and code were made by me, the music is a royalty free loop that I downloaded from here http://www.playonloop.com/2014-music-loops/brave-worm/

notdannysemail@gmail.com(That's actually it)
-Danny Cruz


EDIT: I decided to upload a post-jam version, this has some bugfixes, as well as a new camera control. Not sure about the rules so I clearly labeled it as "Post Jam" for judging purposes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#40Innovation(Jam)3.86
#99Overall(Jam)3.69
#153Fun(Jam)3.40
#265Audio(Jam)3.30
#373Theme(Jam)3.15
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#406Humor(Jam)2.47
#419Graphics(Jam)3.26

Comments

j_peeba says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

The switching mechanics were really quite good. The potential is definitely there but, for me, the biggest issue was the camera: I had to constantly jump on platforms outside the view and this combined with the instakill falling, the game was just a little too frustrating to get really into. But still, the gameplay mechanics definitely have promise!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55am

Really cool game man. I love the concept you came up with. However I think you could have done more with it in the 72 hours you got :)

tacs says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Nice idea, well executed and it looks nice too. Good job :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16am

This was really cool! The animations and the switching mechanism were really sweet. The only thing I came up with that could make it better was if I could see a bit more of the level at once - it'd make the puzzling a little bit easier. Anyhoo, solid work throughout, good job!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21am

I find the gravity switching a little bit unintuitive. It doesn't work as I would expect it to. But love the game, nice audio, nice graphics, lot of fun.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28am

Woah this is really awesome! I absolutely love how good this game feels! From the smooth animations to the audio feedback when you switch! One thing I would personally want to see is better treatment of death. When I played I died a lot, and I would have liked to see a "press Space to respawn" instead of 'R'. Also I'd have liked it if you died sooner after missing a platform, but I understand if you put the boundaries far out so that people wouldn't accidentally hit them. The puzzles are also really cool, though I did have to do trial and error just to figure out what the special blocks did. But once I did... man, does the part where you keep flipping through yellow/purple blocks feel sooooooo good. :D

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

Very nice mechanics

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47am

I like the mechanics, the level design is well-planned out, well done!

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Solid entry. Loved it!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56am

For me personally this was a really smooth entry. Enjoyed it a lot!

The gravity switching is cool, because its not exactly all powerful. In fact I never quite grasped exactly how it works, which some could see as a negative. Maybe a bit more explanation would do?

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15am

I'll echo the camera comment that was made. The game was super interesting, and the mechanic is cool! Originally I thought it was just gravity switching, but it seems like it switches a few different things that you have to keep track of.

The music was a little bit annoying and the ability did just stop working for me part way through the level, but other than that it was great.

Gathering says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

love that game too :) Some blocks are quite annoying but after a while u understand u can just fly during the whole game! So if there is a future version, I would definitely love to have a timer :)

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48am

Just added a new version. Using up and down you can move the camera slighltly, to get a better view of the puzzle :)

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

I love this idea and would like to see it pushed further and fleshed out! Controls were not very intuitive, had a hard time understanding where the max distance of being pulled toward the active platforms was. Great first jam entry!

Ozeotropo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice mechanics! Extra innovation stars!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Hey congrats on your first jam! Having to go through trial and errors to get a sense of the mechanic and the challenges it presents was a bit frustrating, but it was worth it.

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Very innovative gameplay mechanic! Well done!

yo_milo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:26am

Really Good game, very fun, and I would like to see a full version of this game.

Hypnohustla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

Controls were spot on, and the graphics were really eye-pleasing. Hard as hell though. :)

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Very good concept that perfectly fits the theme. The graphics and music are ok but I like that you focused on gameplay and controls. And there is content too. I really enjoyed it. Keep working on it.

edibletoaster says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Pretty cool

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]