Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Understanding LD

by DarkMeatGames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare ever.

Tried twice to do something within the theme, but failed. Ended up just trying to get a simple platformer/shooter going.

The theme isn't too strong, but my justification is that I'm trying to get to a deeper understanding of making games, so I forced myself to finish and submit something. I wanted later levels to all be about going downwards, maybe adding fall damage, but I never got there. Weak justification, but it's the best I could do!

Created with Unity3D.

Voxels, care of Voxwell: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/#/content/14989

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#190Graphics3.81
#256Fun3.41
#332Humor2.80
#470Overall3.26
#579Mood2.96
#637Audio2.61
#1107Innovation2.24
#1229Theme1.87

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice platformer, I like the "Yeah" effect so much ! Great Job

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Those explosions <3

I love how you mix 2D and 3D.
The game is hard, but I managed to finish it. Why F or J to shoot? That's nor usual nor practical

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I love the graphical style!
But I have to wonder, why is it called "Understanding LD"? :P
Congratulations on such a wonderful first Ludum Dare!

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Although the graphics are pretty beautiful and I love certain details which require time but may be unnoticed (like the player's squash and stretch effect).
Its tutorial and YEAH! effect when completing a level are neat, and the sound is minimal but fits it! The effect when something is destroyed (even yourself) really made me laugh at first, pretty amusing!
Don't really see the theme in it, but I enjoyed playing it :)

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Great effects and cubey graphics. I don't like mechanics (would like to jump further and move quicker) but still impressive work :)

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I really liked the look of this game. The graphics and lighting were well done. Exploding into voxels when you die was also pretty neat. I could see this getting developed into a pretty fun puzzle/platformer. Nice job!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Although most of the stuff seemed to already be in unity. its well done and good looking.

Zed says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Thank you for making the 'reward' for winning a screen where I get to endlessly watch myself explode. Never thought I'd play a game where death is so aesthetically pleasing. Good job.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Whoah this is a really good game. In fact I don't like platform games, but you exploded my brain and my heart. Thank you bro' ++

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

like the graphics style the game got pretty damn hard but nice work overall

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18pm

forgot to add i found myself at the mercy of the delayed movement a couple of times

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Liked the idea and the graphics, had sometimes the impression to glide a little. Still really fun, great job

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I enjoy and my kids too :)

Balint197 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The graphics were really nice! Well done!

Sergraz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nicely done, has style and fun to play.

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Nice, like the gfx, looks good!

Thomas Ingham says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Pretty tough with timing but you nailed the jump mechanic.

MattV says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

this is a great example of how much lighting can make simple graphics look polished! Good work!

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07pm

nice graphics

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Not a lot of stars in the theme category, but it's a really solid little platformer. The effects are great and it has its own style. Good job :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Really fun to play. Quite challenging and very simple. I really enjoyed it.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Short, but excellent platformer !

Griz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Haha, the first death explosion has scared me way more than it should. Also nice idea about placing those spikes on the credits screen. I like the style that you've got there.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Boxes!

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Lovely art style, awesome death explosion! Too tough for me though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Haha YES explosions were awesome! I couldn't get past level 2 :'( might have to come back and try later... Way to get this up on Ludumdare this year. It's our first year too.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

This is my favorite so far, love the feel!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice game, I suppose learning game design deeper could be the beneath the surface theme

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

Simple, but fun. Like it!

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice job for a first entry, you should keep it up and try agin next time :)

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Just say the levels are underground, that's all the justification you need. ;D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice graphics. The levels reminded me of Portal a bit? A fairly well polished game, with some cool graphic effects, and decent gameplay, gets quite tricky in parts.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Kind of lags, the movement I mean. But otherwise I like it.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

great gfx ..solid entry :)

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Good effort getting something in, a lot of people don't even get that far so don't beat yourself up too much. Tricky levels and decent layout. Nice clean graphics, the black band on the guy reminds me of a thief lol

icereci says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

art style is very nice.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

hard but very fun. the explosion was sweet, congrats on your first ludum dare, you did a really good job :)

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:17am

My favorite part was the player death explosions. Almost made me want to kill myself again and again just to see them! :D As you mentioned, pretty light on the theme, but seems like you had you goals for the competition and worked towards accomplishing them. Looks good and is fun to play.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:03am

I wanted MORE!!!! which is always a good sign. Graphics are really good (with a death effect like that, you totally need a Super Meat Boy style montage of all your attempts at a level after each level) and difficulty is spot on.

It's a little quiet though. The sound there is good, but it isn't enough.
Still, pleeeeeease add more levels post-compo.

grozamorei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26am

i liked death effect, enjoyed to die.

all in all great entry, but you really need to work with sealing materal - it does not bounce you back when you hit it, though it feels like it should.

keep up great job!

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

I really like this game! The effects when you die or when you destroy stuff is really good. I also love the "Yeah" that flies out of the star when you win the level.

Really nice platformer, I'd actually like to see you develop it further as I think it has potential.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:27am

The theme isn't everything I feel.
This is a good first Ludum Dare game!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

One hit kill mechanism is too brutal because the player is not fast as they are in other this kind of platformers. It leads quickly to frustration because it's a slow process to try again e.g. one tricky jump. Or you could add a health bar and keep the velocity as it is.
As a first ld game it's good job! Keep up learning. Looking forward to your next ld game.

KuGrou says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really liked the death effects and lighting. I also like the level design. Movement doesn't feel as tight as I would like, but it is a good start.

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:03pm

It would have been nice to allow W to jump as well as space, but thats pretty minor. The game is ok, the cube explosions feel pretty satisfying.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45pm

congrats on entering LD. wow, your game is actually pretty awesome and you have all the elements in there and its pretty fun, and looks great too! i'd say you have a pretty deep understanding of games already! keep up the good work!

Bashosha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04am

Nice one keep going :)

vilya says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16am

Great graphics, like that look a lot. The gameplay is tricky, but a good challenge. Some music would be a great addition.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Too hard for me, but a nice game :)

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Hey congrats on your first LD! It's nice to know your own limits and to have the willpower to rethink what you are doing.

You were still able to bring some content to the table, that is impressive

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:35am

Fun game, the visual effects added a lot overall. Congrats!

jadams says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Really enjoyed the graphical style and seeing lots of small things done well. I was disappointed when it ended. Nice work.

Tuism says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:27am

Really nicely juiced game, well designed levels, there's not much to it but what's there's quality :)

May 4, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Graphics are amazing

May 4, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice polishing on this one! Difficulty goes up really fast but nice one.

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I had some difficulty with the control but the level design was very nice. Great job for your first LD!

May 8, 2014 @ 9:35am

nice game , love the graphics

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Like it

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:11am

Nice visuals. Awesome explosions. Cool tech. Game is balanced and fun.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Solid entry for a first LD, no complaints about the mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]