Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Do not rate I cheated

by MyDarKnightMare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do not rate I cheated

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1277Overall1.47
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Wir says ...
Apr 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Great game!

Apr 27, 2014 @ 3:59am

Thanks

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

It's a shame how it's just a metagun with different levels and slightly different graphics.. Shame on you!

Tl;Dr: it's stolen basically

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Actually I wrote the code myself and used the metagun graphics as a base and I forgot to change them.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:43am

Good job!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Stolen except you changed some graphics, come on man, I appreciate what you're trying to do but stealing isn't right.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I don't want to rain on your parade, but this isn't your code. The date modified of the files is listed as 2010. It's in the package com.mojang.metagun. I understand you want to participate in LD48, but submit this as a Jam entry if you want good ratings, since in no way did you write this code.
You even left Notch's exposition.txt file in, where it describes it as his entry for LD48 #18.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

http://i.cubeupload.com/DiRxs7.png

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

My first LD was based on Metagun's code, so I have a bit of a soft-spot for this. I'm a bit upset that you didn't change much at all though. The enemy AI is the same and the graphics are pretty similar.

I hope next LD you can code something with more of your own code in it! :)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Games for the compo must be developed from scratch. Should've entered this in the Jam, sorry.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Whaaat? People are saying you stole the game? :S
I can't verify it myself, but at the same time I feel like I can't rate your game, so I'm gonna leave it unrated. Either way, in the 48 hour compo you're supposed to make all the assets and everything yourself.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:14pm

You shouldn't break the rules, no matter how old you are. People are gonna find out, and you didn't even do much to hide it... I guess that's a lesson learned, which is important, too! ;)
So I guess I don't rate this, right?

TheMorfeus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Can we somehow report this? Also, this guy is right now spamming me with comments on my game explaining himself...

May 2, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for what I hope is structural criticism.
Feel free to badly rate, report, or not rate at all.

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Stolen!

May 4, 2014 @ 1:16am

I am sad to announce I cheated.
I stole meatgun for LD48 29

May 4, 2014 @ 1:16am

*metagun

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]