Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scavenger

by longshorts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----------
Story
-----------
Scavenger is an action platformer where you play a lone survivor, searching underground for food and supplies. It has now been a year since the overworld was bombarded to an uninhabitable state, a reaction to a worldwide zombie outbreak. The only way to stay alive is to live underground. But beware, for that is also where the zombie plague has survived this nuclear winter...

-----------
Controls
-----------
WASD: Movement
E: Pickup crate
SPACE: Fire pistol

-----------
Firsts
-----------

> First LD entry ever, and first game jam for that matter.
> First completed entry. Woop!
> First game I've created with sound & music!
> First platformer I have ever made.

-----------
Tools
-----------

Code : Java with LibGDX on Eclipse
Pixel Art: PyxelEdit
Level Design: Tiled
Other Art: GIMP
Sound Effects: BFXR
Music: LMMS

I will be completing a post mortem of the game at some later date on my blog :)

Note: Music has a slight hickup when it loops in the web version, this does not occur in the jar executable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#381Audio3.03
#511Graphics3.23
#618Fun2.95
#665Mood2.88
#774Theme3.00
#775Overall2.95
#962Humor1.84
#1107Innovation2.24

Comments

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Really liked this one, congratulations on your first LD! Some decent music and I liked how the bad guys' eyes turned red when they spot you. Well done!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42pm

This is really good! Especially for a first game jam. Nice work!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Zombis <3

tchem says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08am

The art is awesome,, i love it. simple and good gamedesign.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Wow, amazing for your first Game Jam! A bit short, but the gameplay is awesome. The zombie AI is pretty basic, but that's cool, and they kind of remind me of old Mario AI. The music fits the game very well, same for the sound fx. Great job!!

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Cool first game :)
It's a bit on the hard side when it comes to the low-ceiling jumps in the beginning, but once I figured out how to optimally get through the level it was fun. It has potential, maybe you'll work on it some more after the compo!

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12am

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare!

I found the controls were a little sticky, and I kept getting stuck inside of walls while jumping. Some of the enemies seemed to be placed in ways that getting past them was more luck than skill.

Still, interesting mechanic with hunger, and good job getting a full set of audio in (including SFX and music)!

Ludusamo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Pretty good game, a little bit difficult, but I like where you were going with the concept. Wish it was a little more fleshed out but good job.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Very interesting. You mentioned that you failed to get a creepy feeling, but believe me, it exists. The music does wonders and I really enjoyed the elements like hunger, limited ammo and line of sight zombie eye flashing. A very nice job indeed!

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54pm

nice idea but the collision detection cost me a few deaths :(

SecularBaron says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:57am

Fun game, it was a tough challenge.

Caridorc says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:01pm

PLEASE, add the ARROW-KEYS to move!

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:52am

Good first game, well done. Much better than my first attempts at platforming, so keep up the good work.

It would be good to be able to press more than one button (like up and right at the same time).

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Congratulations getting a platformer working, that's pretty great. Now you just need to polish it up to make it "feel" more fun. Things like moving while in the air and adjusting the player speed go a long way.

0Creds says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:06am

Good game. A little on the difficult side, but once you get used to it. It's quite fun. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]