Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mystic Castle

by xerohuang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(New links were added after Compo, not in 48 hours. With bug fixes and optimised controls.)


You are in a mystic castle where there is an inner one in another dimension. Can you see the truth?

It's a Action/Puzzle/Platformer game. With your "see" skill, you would see something disappearing/appearing.

Left/W/Right/D to move, alt to "see", ctrl to attack, space to jump. Or just use the joystick. You can configure controls with Windows version.


But No sound, No musics, No menu, No boss... had not enough time to do it. As my first LD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#365Innovation3.35
#427Fun3.16
#428Graphics3.35
#431Humor2.61
#544Overall3.19
#588Theme3.23
#619Mood2.92

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23am

Neat concept! I was confused at first how it fit the theme, but I got it after a minute. A bit buggy and a little hard to control, but with a bit of work I think this could stand up rather well!

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

it was certainly interesting. but a little bit too fast paced for me. I had a hard time controlling the character.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

I fricken love that zombie head attack, and the gameplay with toggling the sight function is interesting.

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52am

The mechanic is great, seeing things beyond the surface and utilise it to solve puzzles. However, the control, I think, still can be more polished :)

danialias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00am

Great, great game. Exactly the kind of game can become something much bigger, I love it.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Thanks guys. I will try to polish it after the compo :) .

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Controls are a bit glitchy, but the graphics are totally awesome! Pixel art in general is awesome, but there are some people who know how to put that pixels together to create something even more aweseome - and you are surely one of them.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice tweak around the theme. Really dig the gameplay and level design, good work on that. The ground is a bit slippy though, making precision in movement not that great.
Good job anyway !

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Loved that zombie head attack!

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Control is a too sensitive, and increased the difficulty, but the idea is really very interesting ! Art work also very funny ! I like it a lot.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Awesome idea! I'd tighten the -accel when you stop moving, he feels too slippery. I love the baddies with their headwhip. Overall great job!

Tifu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20am

Woops, I got out of the castle by glitching outside a wall and then fell forever through the sky D:
Guess I wasn't meant to do that... had to restart to complete it. Cool mechanic and level design.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Nice entry for LD29. I like this little man and zombie, but it seems to me that moves are really annoying - a kind of slide and combinaison to kill our enemies didn't work properly. I have a graphic problem - a constant cliping which affects my pleasure like a green rain ++

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The move sensitivity was killing me. Well that and the bad guys throwing their heads at me. Pretty fun overall.

jayhof says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I like the idea with "see/walk - through" walls. nice work!

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Good game for your first LD. The jump is a bit floaty, but for a first time it is good.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great game, far better than I'd expect for someone's first LD. Though there are some technical issues, design-wise it's mostly flawless.

The 'two worlds' mechanic was an obvious pick for the theme, but it was very well executed in this game; the environment-changing bubble is not unique, but it's definitely a fitting choice for overlapping worlds, and the way it was executed was really good; you really had to be careful about when and when not to activate the bubble. The level design was great and forced me to think about how to progress multiple times. The areas look a bit too similar, though; minor visual differences (paintings on the wall, sets of armor, other decorations) would make it easier to recognize where you are (and with that, whether or not you have visited that room before). The combat unfortunately sucked donkey balls, mostly because of the extreme slipperiness of the castle (seriously, what was it built out of?!). The death penalty is also rather severe; with no way to heal, your third time of accidentally running into a skeleton comes soon enough, and suddenly you have to walk back to where you were again - a lot less fun once you've finished solving the puzzles. In fact, I feel the combat didn't really add anything to the game, and it might've been better off without it.

I also feel that sound would very much improve the game. When you flip a switch or press a button, you might not even notice that you did so, let alone know what happened from pressing the button/flipping the switch. A simple *click* sound would help recognize when you press a button/flip a switch, and things like sounds of doors opening (for multiple-use switches) or a you-solved-the-puzzle jingle (for single-use switches) would help hint towards what just happened because of the switch. Music would add a lot too; once I started playing 'Fearless Challenger / Guidance Gate' (from La-Mulana) in the background, the game got several times more awesome.

Overall, great game, looking forward to seeing what you make after this LD.

xerohuang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:16am

@Geckoo1337: What's the graphic problem? I don't get that.

Thanks guys and thank @VDZ for your helpful advice!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:16am

That was really well done. Cohesive graphics (though a bit sparse) and a fun and interesting mechanic really brought this one to life.

roaet says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:18am

I really like the see ability concept. Sound and music really goes a long way to completing the game but I know the feeling of time slipping away.

Other than sound and whatnot, try implementing some friction! It'll really help with the platform feel.

Like it.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25am

This is cool! The "see" skill was a nice addition to the basic platformer formula. I wish the controls were a bit tighter tho. Congratulations on your first LD :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Haha, love the zombie. Great

Lancelot Gao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:35am

Very good use of theme! The game mechanics is really interesting, and the level is well designed too. The attack animations of player and zombie is my favorite part! Overall, an awesome piece as the 1st LD entry!

Impmaster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:14am

Eh. Didn't really get how to do anything. I saw an enemy if I used see, then it disappeared and I started losing life? Also, the collision boxes were a bit weird and the movement felt bad.

xerohuang says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

@Impmaster : If you use see skill, you will see something and CANNOT see some other thing at the same time. For example, you will see the "hole" in the wall then walk through it, and you CANNOT see and hurt the enemy (but it can hurt you because it can see you). There're two worlds in the castle, you will see the inner world in the sight and CANNOT see the outer world.

VDZ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:34am

@Impmaster
To clarify what xerohuang says: There is a 'front layer' and a 'back layer'. The front layer is visible outside of the circle and around you when you have your power disabled, when when you enable your power you see only the 'back layer' of the level in the circle around you. Enemies will hit you when you bump into them regardless of whether or not you can see them; switch to the proper layer to kill them.

At the very start, you have a 'closed room' with only an enemy. Kill the enemy and activate your power to notice the back layer has a hole in the wall that you can walk through. The rest of the game is just like that; there's platforms that are or aren't there depending on the layer, etc. You'll probably find yourself wondering where to go next and thinking maybe the game ends here because of time constraints, but there's always a way to continue until you get a clear 'you win' message. I urge you to give this game another chance, it's quite good apart from the combat.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:22am

wow nice use of theme, animation, physics!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]